March 21st, 2012


word

selcouth [sel-kooth] adj. strange; uncommon

birthday

Julio Gallo (1910), Russ Meyer (1922), Eddie Money (1949), Gary Oldman (1958), Matthew Broderick (1962), Rosie O’Donnell (1962)

standpoint

Okay, so I bought this new computer, my first Mac, an iBook G4. And I mostly love it. But it’s quirky. It does things I don’t want it to.

Like, for instance, I’ve been having a problem linking on here and, as you know because you read my blog as much as you can, I’m all about links. So, when I started this post I was linking like a maniac, throwing them down at will, raining links at will.

But then, all of a sudden, my laptop decided it’d had enough with links for the evening. It put a stop to the linking. I can’t figure it out and, believe me, I’m good at figuring shit out.

I’ve got two thoughts I’d like share on this matter.

One, I most likely acted too rash and purchased an out-of-date computer that has problems dealing with all of the technological advances that occur daily out here on the internet. My brother Jeremy, a computer whiz if there ever was one, warned me this might happen but I’d all ready completed the transaction and the laptop was en route when I told him about it. The smart move would’ve been to consult him beforehand but, while I’m a pretty smart guy, my intelligence sometimes seems to want nothing to do with decision making.

Two, now that I’ve got this computer, I’m sticking with it. I’m convinced I can get to the bottom of these minor problems. I’m certainly not buying a new laptop until I’ve exhausted all the options. After I’ve done everything in my power to get past these inconveniences, I’m fairly certain I’ll be going to Jeremy to get his advice on what kind Mac I actually should buy.

quotation

Advice to children crossing the street: damn the lights. Watch the cars. The lights ain’t never killed nobody. ↔ Moms Mabley

tune

I thought, what with it being Matthew Broderick’s birthday and all, that I would share the song made famous by Broderick’s most famous movie. Here’s “Oh Yeah” by Yello.

gallimaufry

→ Couldn’t get this section done properly because of the problem I mentioned in standpoint. Let’s face it, I’m not as effective when stripped of the links.

3 thoughts on “March 21st, 2012

  1. I bought a mac for my kids . . . I barely know how to turn it on . . . good luck with it . . .

  2. Hope you don’t mind, but I surreptitiously filmed the purchase of your new computer:

    Here’s to hoping it all works out!

Leave a Reply

