February 15th, 2012


word

anomie [anuh-mee] n. Sociology. a state or condition of individuals or society characterized by a breakdown or absence of social norms and values, as in the case of uprooted people

birthday

Galileo Galilei (1564), Susan B. Anthony (1820), Harvey Korman (1927), Jane Seymour (1951), Matt Groening (1954), Chris Farley (1964), Conor Oberst (1980)

standpoint

I have nothing substantive to share today. I hope everyone had as great a Valentine’s Day as I did. You most likely deserved it. 🙂

And for my Facebook followers who are wondering why I took down my sardonic status update from last night, it’s because I’m trying to turn over a new leaf and be an accepting guy. But, christ, sometimes you people make it harder than it needs to be.

quotation

The language of friendship is not words but meanings. ↔ Henry David Thoreau

tune

So my nephew (and godson) is heavily into hip-hop. The other day I sent him the following video clip for “Electric Relaxation” by A Tribe Called Quest and asked him what he thought. His response was this: “Not a bad song and not a great one.” I just didn’t know how to properly respond. I guess he’ll eventually figure it out, right?

gallimaufry

Who out there was surprised by Oprah’s actions here? If you weren’t, you need to really explore why the hell you like Oprah so much.

→ See? You all thought I was nuts. For months I’ve been telling everyone who’d listen that Malachy the Pekingese was going to roll right over the competition at this year’s Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show. Now who’s laughing? (Before I get responses to this, I was being facetious. I had no idea who Malachy was before I read about him last night. It may seem weird to some of you that I have explain that but I can show you emails that would make your head spin. WordPress needs to develop a sense of humor filter.)

→ And just when you thought the Jerry Sandusky thing couldn’t get worse, here come this. Awfulness of the highest order.

Leave a Reply

