December 12th, 2011


word

satori [suhtawr-ee, –torh-ee] n. Zen. sudden enlightenment

birthday

John Jay (1745), Frank Sinatra (1915), Bob Barker (1923), Ed Koch (1924), Dionne Warwick (1940), Grover Washington, Jr. (1943), Mädchen Amick (1970)

standpoint

There’s no new standpoint today. Blame my roommate Dan who recently bought the entire series DVD collection of the HBO series Deadwood. I’m officially addicted.

quotation

If music be the food of love, play on. ↔ William Shakespeare

tune

I’ve never been a fan of Bad Religion and I’m pretty sure I’ve only really listened to one of their songs. But it’s a great one. Here’s “Sorrow.”

gallimaufry

Tomorrow is going to be another long day for all those sports “experts” who’ve been waiting for Tim Tebow to fail. Rock on, God boy.

→ If you’re asking my opinion, Paste is the only music website that I know of that doesn’t completely suck. I’m currently exploring Paste’s 20 Best New Bands of 2011. Lots of good stuff.

→ I wanted to mention this a while back but it slipped my mind: the Philadelphia 76ers, under new ownership, finally got rid of Hip Hop, one of the most ridiculous sports mascots of all-time. How they stopped children from running for their lives when Hip Hop entered the stands will always remain a mystery.

2 thoughts on “December 12th, 2011

  1. Was going to post ‘Sorrow’ last week after it popped up on my iPhone Friday. I think the Acoustic Version off of New Maps of Hell (Deluxe Version) is my favorite!

  2. Good point about Hip Hop. I think he makes an appearance in Donnie Darko.

Leave a Reply

