November 21, 2011


word

catachresis [kat-uhkree-sis] n. misused or strained use of words, as in a mixed metaphor, occurring either in error or for rhetorical effect

birthday

Voltaire (1694), Marlo Thomas (1937), Harold Ramis (1944), Goldie Hawn (1945), Björk (1965)

standpoint

For all of you movie buffs, I’m working on something pretty cool for the next post, so stay tuned. Thanks for reading.

quotation

Anyone can be passionate, but it takes real lovers to be silly. ↔ Rose Franken

tune

I realized the other day that those who actually pay attention to my tune of the day must think that I listen to music solely of the indie rock persuasion. Not so, people. I also like jazz a great deal. Here’s one of my favorites – “Strange Meadowlark” by Dave Brubeck, who, incidentally, I was lucky enough to see in concert a few years back.

gallimaufry

→ Hey, fucking geniuses, people still take this shit seriously. You’re an embarrassment to racist morons everywhere.

→ The Philadelphia Eagles continue to lose when they’re supposed to win and win when they’re supposed to lose. Absolutely fucking annoying.

→ I had no idea John Sellers released his new book, The Old Man and the Swamp. I will definitely be picking it up soon and suggest you all do the same. I’ve had some personal contact with Mr. Sellers over the years and not only is he a great writer but he’s a quality individual as well.

One thought on “November 21, 2011

Leave a Reply

