November 2, 2011


word

solicitous [suhlis-i-tuhs] adj. 1. anxious or concerned (usually followed by about, for, etc., or a clause): solicitous about a person’s health 2. anxiously desirous: solicitous of the esteem of others 3. eager (usually followed by an infinitive): He was always solicitous to please 4. careful or particular: a solicitous housekeeper

birthday

Daniel Boone (1734), Marie Antoinette (1755), James Knox Polk (1795), Warren G. Harding (1865), Burt Lancaster (1913), Pat Buchanan (1938), Pat Croce (1954), k.d. lang (1961), David Schwimmer (1966), Nelly (1974)

standpoint

This year’s NHL Winter Classic is going to happen right here in Philadelphia. I understand this shouldn’t be breaking news.

But, while I’m excited to see the Flyers take on the New York Rangers in the great outdoors on New Year’s Day, I’m even more psyched for the Alumni Game that will take place the night before.

And that’s because my favorite hockey player of all-time will be lacing up the skates once again. That’s right. Eric Lindros will be wearing a Flyers’ sweater for the first time in over a decade. Also, John LeClair will be joining him.

For a hockey geek like me, it just doesn’t get any better that.

quotation

Humanity takes itself too seriously. It is the world’s original sin. If cavemen had known how to laugh, history would have been different. ↔ Chuck Klosterman

tune

Last week I featured the title track from Gomez‘s latest, Whatever’s On Your Mind. I can’t stop listening to the frickin’ album. Here’s “Song In My Heart.”

gallimaufry

→ “I would think that he would be eager to get all the details out as quickly as possible if he is as innocent as he is describing himself in all of this.” Quote from Tom Brokaw on the alleged sexual harassment charges against Herman Cain. True dat, Brokaw. True dat.

→ My brother Jeremy told me about www.flyersgoalscoredby.com and it’s a pretty good site. But even if you don’t give a shit about hockey you need to read this post about a Buffalo Sabres’ fan cruising Craigslist for a date to tonight’s game. Funny and sad. But mostly funny.

→ This will probably be my last post this week as I’ve got some social stuff going on. But I wanted to mention how surprised I am about yesterday’s site traffic. I was kind of nervous to see everyone’s reaction because I wrote some pretty personal stuff but I received more hits than I have in a long time. Much appreciated. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

