08.03.11 – a wednesday


word

gazump [guhzuhmp] v. 1. to cheat (a house buyer) by raising the price, at the time a contract is to be signed, over the amount originally agreed upon  n. 2. an act of gazumping

birthday

Tony Bennett (1926), Martin Sheen (1940), Martha Stewart (1941), John C. McGinley (1959), James Hetfield (1963), Tom Brady (1977), Evangeline Lilly (1979)

standpoint

I’ve been at this a while, the whole blogging thing I mean. Over the years, several friends have started their own blogs and have sought my advice.

One of the primary things I’ve told each and every one of them is this: Don’t blog angry. When people are angry, they feel like venting and writing is one of the best ways to vent. But writing angry material will most always turn readers away.

And, unfortunately, due to current circumstances, I’ve been angry, or some variation of it, lately.

So instead of embarrassing myself and writing things I’m going to regret later, I’ve been abstaining.

And that’s that.

quotation

We will all be flat on our backs at one time or another. That’s when you figure out what you’ve got inside. ↔ Vince Young

tune

My good friend Bill texted me last week and reminded me of “Ramona” by Beck from Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World which, if you’ve been reading this blog’s sporadic entries, you know know has become one of my all-time favorite movies. So, instead of responding to his text (sorry, Bill), I looked up the song on YouTube and, anyway, here’s a great video.

gallimaufry

→ Man, if it wasn’t for the Bible how would me make rational sense of all this crap going on lately?

CBS is set to kill and have a funeral for Charlie Sheen this fall. And we’ll be able to watch it on television.

→ I wanna hang with The Yes Men. Not for a super long time but just enough to see how insane they are.

2 thoughts on “08.03.11 – a wednesday

  1. Sorry this comment was for latest non standpoint, not the 2nd to last non standpoint:
    To paraphrase Kyra Sedgwick’s Linda Powell in “Singles”
    “I think that, a) you have a standpoint, and that, b) not having an standpoint is your standpoint.”

  2. Right there with you on The Yes Men. And good point about angry blogging. Best to abstain. Wish more people would take a step back before letting the vitriol spew.

Leave a Reply

