07.18.11 – a monday


word

usufruct [yoo-zoo-fruhkt, -soo-, yooz-yoo, yoos-] n. Roman and Civil law the right of enjoying all the advantages derivable from the use of something that belongs to another, as far as is compatible with the substance of the thing not being destroyed or injured

birthday

Machine Gun Kelly (1895), Hume Cronyn (1911), Red Skelton (1913), Nelson Mandela (1918), John Glenn (1921), Hunter S. Thompson (1937), James Brolin (1940), Joe Torre (1940), Steve Forbes (1947), Sir Richard Branson (1950), Vin Diesel (1967), Kristen Bell (1980)

standpoint

So, yes, admittedly it’s been a while. I’m not updating with the frequency that most of you would like and, truthfully, I’ve got no real excuse.

But I’m back, at least for today, and here’s some things currently taking up space in my brain.

→ I can’t wait for the Harry Potter movies to go away and I suspect Daniel Radcliffe would agree with me on this one. I’ve never seen one all the way through and I don’t really feel a tremendous sense of loss over it. Also, I don’t want to hear one more person say to me, “But, dude, you should read the books. The books are so good.” I’m not reading the books. I simply have no interest. And while I’m at it, I’m not going to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo books, either. I understand that society deems me a bad person because of my refusal to read these books. I’m going to have to live with that.

→ Everyone needs to calm down about yesterday’s FIFA’s Women’s World Cup Final. In case you missed it, and there’s a good chance you did, Japan beat the US in a match that went down to the wire, ending in penalty-kick shootout that didn’t quite go our way. The outcome was beneficial for all: the Japanese people got a well-deserved reason to celebrate and we Americans got to bitch for a couple of hours about something we’ve all ready forgotten by now.

→ People are actually giving money to the campaign of this execrable, loathsome fuckstick (pardon the language). Also, I’ve changed my mind yet again on this crazy bitch. We’re in for some serious shit here, people. Get ready.

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading.

quotation

Depression is rage spread thin. ↔ George Santayana

tune

The other day, I went to Main Street Music as part of my “secret mission.” (There’s only one of you who will understand what I mean by that.) And, as sometimes happens, I like whatever particular song happens to be playing and an impulse buy ensues. And now I own Within And Without by Washed Out. Here’s “Amor Fati.”

gallimaufry

I have no idea what to say about this. But I hope Mila Kunis actually goes through with it.

→ With all of the uncertainties revolving around the Philadelphia Flyers‘ upcoming season, I didn’t need this news.

→ Of all the apps out there, I think this one is my current favorite.

Leave a Reply

