07.12.11 – a tuesday


word

thrasonical [threy-son-i-kuhl] adj. boastful; vainglorious

birthday

Henry David Thoreau (1817), George Washington Carver (1864), Pablo Neruda (1904), Milton Berle (1908), Andrew Wyeth (1917), Bill Cosby (1937), Richard Simmons (1948), Topher Grace (1978), Michelle Rodriguez (1978)

standpoint

So, I’m researching The Princess Bride last night for today’s standpoint and I happen upon this. (Sorry, no embedding for some odd reason.) And then this comes up.

Then I started thinking about Star Wars and up pops the original trailer from 1977 and as much as I love the movie now, if I were watching television back then and saw the following preview, I never would’ve gone to see it.

So I’m checking that out, wondering if maybe I spend too much time on YouTube and I occurs to me that I’ve been doing this blog for over two years now (off and on) and I’ve never shared the one and only video featuring yours truly on the internet.

After that, I looked at the clock and it was time for bed.

quotation

I hate quotations. Tell me what you know. ↔ Ralph Waldo Emerson

tune

The dude might whistle too much but I’ve always loved Andrew Bird‘s “Fake Palindromes.”

gallimaufry

The other day, I heard about planking from one of my Sunday (Funday) regulars. It’s one of those simple things that reminds me life can be supremely funny.

→ Why in the world do they have to remake everything? Some movies are perfect just the way they are. Although I will admit that I’m sort of intrigued about this one.

→ Because of this blog, I read a lot of asinine stories. This one is up there on the list of the most ridiculous bullshit I’ve encountered. Also, these fantastic people live right around the corner from me.

Leave a Reply

