07.08.11 – a friday


word

adumbrate [a-duhm-breyt, aduhm-breyt] v. 1. to produce a faint image or resemblance of; to outline or sketch 2. to foreshadow; prefigure 3. to darken or conceal partially; overshadow

birthday

John D. Rockefeller (1839), Nelson A. Rockefeller (1908), Jerry Vale (1932), Jeffrey Tambor (1944), Wolfgang Puck (1949), Anjelica Huston (1951), Kevin Bacon (1958), Toby Keith (1961), Billy Crudup (1968), Beck (1970)

standpoint

I don’t normally post on Fridays, especially during the summer. The reason for that loose guideline is I feel most of you come here when you’re bored at work or bored at home or just simply bored in general and, of the five-day work week, Friday is the least boring and, in the summer, lots of you don’t work on Fridays at all. (The last few sentences were pretty much all conjecture.)

But I’m posting here on this particular Friday because I’m in the mood to do a little braindump. It’s mostly inconsequential nonsense but since not a lot of you will be reading it anyway, why the hell not?

→ This is the last time I’ll be bringing this up (on here, at least) until the fall but I couldn’t be more excited that James Spader is joining the cast of The Office full-time. I’m aware this has been a small obsession of mine since last season’s finale but, really, what’s the harm?

→ If you read yesterday’s standpoint you know exactly how disgusted I am with the Casey Anthony not-guilty verdict. I’m equally distressed with these idiots, like Dr. Phyllis Chesler, who are now coming to her defense to help her rebuild her life. What a fantastically shitty facet of our society.

→ The television ads for Ocean City MD featuring Rodney the lifeguard rescuing people from boredom and dragging them to the beach, well, those ads really annoy me. Just because Rodney is a certified lifeguard doesn’t mean I can overlook the fact that he’s essentially kidnapping people.

All right, folks, that’s all I got. Have a great weekend and, as always, thanks for reading.

quotation

The drive toward complex technical achievement offers a clue to why the U.S. is good at space gadgetry and bad at slum problems. ↔ John Kenneth Galbraith

tune

I was mildly enthusiastic about Duncan Sheik‘s latest album, Covers 80s. Yes, I know, I know, the guy is fluff of the highest order but he writes some solid lyrics and is an above average composer of pop music. Since I’m a fan of obscure ditties from the 1980s, I was cautiously optimistic when I purchased the album with a gift card my brother gave me for my birthday. On first listen, I was unhappy with most of what I heard. But tracks from it keep coming up when I’m shuffling on my iPod and I’m unafraid to say that some of them are growing on me. Like this cover of Talk Talk‘s “Life’s What You Make Of It” featuring Rachael Yamagata.

gallimaufry

It’s common sense to think that something is gonna come along and take a bite out of Facebook eventually. Maybe this will be it.

Josh Hamilton probably got exactly zero minutes of sleep last night because of this awful thing that happened.

→ My entire life, I’ve never experienced a single moment in which I felt the desire to play bass guitar. That all changed once I saw this.

Leave a Reply

