07.05.11 – a tuesday


word

barmecidal [bahr-muhsahyd-l] adj. giving only the illusion of plenty; illusory: a barmecidal banquet

birthday

P. T. Barnum (1810), Robbie Robertson (1943), Huey Lewis (1950), Bill Watterson (1958), Edie Falco (1963)

standpoint

I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend. As I wrote last week, I spent some time at the family vacation homestead down in Avalon NJ, and, truthfully, it was one of my favorite in a long list of memorable jaunts.

It’s summertime, people, so get out there and take some jaunts of your own. You won’t regret it, I promise.

In any case, tomorrow I will be back to business as usual,, spouting off in my quotidian manner, blurring the lines between optimism and misanthropy as best I can.

(Note: Be forewarned, there will be a post sometime this week about the current state of the Philadelphia Flyers. And, yes, I’m fully aware that it won’t be insanely popular but I need to get it off my chest, so just bear with me.)

quotation

I never give up and I keep talking until I get what I want ↔ Jerry Weintraub

tune

I used to listen to this song all of the time in college. Yesterday, it played on my iPod and I thought I would share it with you today – “What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?” by R.E.M.

gallimaufry

There’s nothing wrong with this. We just have to realize that sometimes things need to change.

→ So far this season, Louie is not really doing it for me. Doesn’t mean I’m going to stop watching, I’ll probably watch the whole season no matter what. I am, however, optimistic about Wilfred. I mean how in the world can you screw up a show with such a great concept?

→ While on the beach last week, I blew through When I Stop Talking, You’ll Know I’m Dead: Useful Stories From a Persuasive Man, the memoir of Jerry Weintraub. Not the most important book I’ve ever picked up, but definitely one of the most entertaining and inspirational.

Leave a Reply

