06.17.11 – a friday


word

bray [brey] n. 1. the loud, harsh cry of a donkey 2. any similar loud, harsh sound  v. 3. to utter a loud and harsh cry, as a donkey 4. to make a loud, disagreeable sound

birthday

Igor Stravinsky (1882), M. C. Escher (1898), Newt Gingrich (1943), Barry Manilow (1943), George S. Clinton (1947), Joe Piscopo (1951), Thomas Haden Church (1960), Greg Kinnear (1963), Jason Patric (1966), Will Forte (1970)

standpoint

I’m gonna address a few topics today so just bear with me.

First, a note about this blog. I know the word “daily” is in the title and I’m aware that suggests there should be a new post every day. In the past, that was definitely the case but, for several reasons, it’s just not feasible nowadays. So you all will have to be satisfied with three posts per week. And, no, I’m not changing the name to conform to the current format. Unless one of you can suggest something better. As always, I welcome your ideas.

Next, the Anthony Weiner issue. I get it. The guy’s a scumbag. But should he have been forced to resign? I’m not completely sold. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be buddies with the guy but it seems to me he did an all right job despite his penchant for the occasional online dalliance. Lots of politicians have done way worse and retained their office. Also, Howard Stern, who’s becoming more irrelevant by the minute, is an asshole for sending one of his douchebag minions to the press conference to shout out mindless bullshit while Weiner was publicly resigning.

Last, the riots in Vancouver two nights ago were absolutely ridiculous. The photo footage looks like an anti-USA rally in Tehran. And I love the headlines: “Frustration Over Canucks Spills Into Downtown Streets.” If that had happened in Philadelphia a year ago when the Flyers lost in the Stanley Cup Finals, the media would have a field day, creating video montages of every awful thing any Philadelphia sports fan had ever done.

quotation

I like it when people talk shit. Because if people weren’t talking shit, there would be nothing for me to come back with. I need that. If I don’t have any ammo, what am I going to say? ↔ Eminem

tune

Hipster all over the country are revitalized this week due to the release of Bon Iver‘s eponymous second album. I loved the first album, For Emma, Forever Ago, but it certainly wasn’t pick-me-up listening. I always wondered (mostly aloud) if it would’ve killed them to pick up the tempo a beat, you know, just for a change of pace. Well, it seems Bon Iver was listening to me as much as I was listening to them. Or, at least, they’re meeting me halfway here. This is “Calgary” off the new album. Enjoy.

gallimaufry

“The World’s Oldest Light Bulb Has Been On for 110 Years” Yeah, you read that right. I like how there’s a “light bulb centennial committee.”

I recommended this book to three different people after I’d only read three chapters. Of those three, exactly none of them actually made it all the way through.  I finished it out of a sense of obligation but wasn’t happy about it. But good for McCann.

→ I’m an unabashed animal lover but there are people out there (including some of my very own readers) who go above and beyond the call of duty. I hope this article is helpful to those of you who look out for those George Eliot called “such agreeable friends.”

One thought on “06.17.11 – a friday

  1. Howard Stern didnt tell Benjy to do it. They were on vacation for the week and when they got back he mentioned to Howard he did it.

Leave a Reply

