06.08.11 – a wednesday


word

stepwise [step-wayhz] adv. 1. in a steplike arrangement 2. Music. from one adjacent tone to another: The melody ascends stepwise adj. 3. Music. moving from one adjacent tone to another: stepwise melodic progression

birthday

Frank Lloyd Wright (1867), Jerry Stiller (1927), Joan Rivers (1933), Boz Scaggs (1940), Griffin Dunne (1955), Keenen Ivory Wayans (1958), Julianna Margulies (1966), Kanye West (1976)

standpoint

Last night, I received an email from The New York Times with the subject line “Up to 30 Dismembered Bodies Found Near Houston, Reuters Reports.” That was at 6:45 pm. I was at work and didn’t actually read the email until I got home around 11:00 pm. I bookmarked it because I thought it would be something interesting to explore for this post.

When I finally got around to looking into it, around midnight, the Times link was dead. I then realized that a sort of retraction had been sent to me an hour after the original message with a vague reference to a “tipster.” I searched it on the internet and found this article that elaborated on the tipster stating how she was “claiming to be psychic.”

Now, I’m not someone who even comes close to resembling a conspiracy theorist but I’m calling bullshit here. There’s no way this is above-board.

I’m basing my opinion on the fact that every single previous “News Alert” The New York Times sent me has been extremely literal, very factual and bland stuff.

I realize what I’m writing here is not particularly interesting or fundamentally entertaining but I’m mostly sure we’re being hoodwinked here. I think someone found something in that house and, before a public panic ensued, it was squashed and then some genius decided to cook up this psychic tipster angle because, hey, a crackpot psychic is much more innocuous than a house full of dismembered non-psychics.

I could be wrong and maybe I’ve wasted my time by writing this and your time by asking you to read it but it’s my blog, after all, so every now and then you’ll just have to indulge me. Fair enough?

quotation

I wouldn’t recommend sex, drugs or insanity for everyone but they’ve always worked for me. ↔ Hunter S. Thompson

tune

All right, here’s something new I’m trying – Original vs. Cover. I love “These Days” by Jackson Browne. But I always try to be honest with you good people who frequent this blog and, in the spirit of truthfulness, I didn’t get around to listening to it until a friend of mine told me that it wasn’t a Mates of State original. I don’t pay the proper attention to classic rock that maybe I should. Sue me. In any case, here’s both. Weigh in. Tell me which one you prefer.

gallimaufry

For all of you Flyers’ fans out there bitching and moaning about how the team has been lackadaisical in its attempts to acquire a proven #1 netminder for the past decade, well, you’re absolutely correct. Until yesterday when GM Paul Holmgren traded for the rights to Ilya Bryzgalov.  If the Flyers can get him under contract, it’ll mean a pretty solid goaltender tandem with Bryzgalov and Sergei Bobrovsky who, despite a lackluster showing in the playoffs, did manage a 28-13-8 record in his rookie season.

→ I have a sticker in my car that reads “PEOPLE SUCK.” I get flack for it. When I read shit like this, I swear that sticker is gospel.

→ Just relax, everyone. Christopher Titus smokes way too much pot to organize this. (I have no idea if Titus is a pothead, I’m just assuming.)

Leave a Reply

