05.31.11 – a tuesday


word

jackanapes [jakuh-neyps] n. 1. an impertinent, presumptuous person, especially a young man; whippersnapper 2. an impudent, mischievous child 3. Archaic. an ape or monkey

birthday

Walt Whitman (1819), Clint Eastwood (1930), John Bonham (1948), Tom Berenger (1949), Lea Thompson (1961), Brooke Shields (1965), Colin Farrell (1976)

standpoint

Here’s some things bothering me after the holiday weekend.

→ I watched The Dilemma with several friends yesterday. Boy, did it completely suck.

How does a manhole explode from “cable malfunctions?” Luckily, it was on the other side of town and I wasn’t effected.

→ Went to Hymie’s Merion Deli yesterday for lunch. Hadn’t been there in years. Truly solid experience. If you have the means, check it out.

→ If you have a problem with getting addicted to video games then you should definitely steer clear of Tiny Wings. It’s menacing.

quotation

 In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer. ↔ Albert Camus

tune

I get these updates from a popular news source that I would mention but I don’t feel like linking. Over the weekend, I was checking my email on my iPod touch and I read the news that Gil Scott-Heron passed away Friday at the age of 62. If you don’t know who he was or why he was important, do yourself a favor and check him out. Here’s “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised.”

gallimaufry

Christ. Jessica Rabbit wasn’t as much of a cartoon character as this lady. I know I pick on Palin a lot but, come on all ready.

→ The Stanley Cup Finals start tomorrow. The Boston Bruins vs. The Vancouver Canucks. I’d be surprised if the Canucks don’t take it in five games. But I’ve been all kinds of wrong lately when it comes to hockey so the Bruins will probably sweep them.

→ I’m hearing lots of negative shit about The Hangover Part II. Anyone got something nice to say about the movie?

2 thoughts on “05.31.11 – a tuesday

  1. I know the owners of Hymie’s and their food is delish! Also, we all know you secretly loved the Dilemma.

  2. Regarding your last query, I’ll paraphrase Roger Ebert’s review of Rush Hour 3 and say (without having seen the film) that The Hangover Part II is the best movie that The Hangover Part II can be.

Leave a Reply

