05.23.11 – a monday


word

tyro [tahy-ro] n. a beginner in learning anything; novice

birthday

Douglas Fairbanks (1883), Scatman Crothers (1910), Joan Collins (1933), Drew Carey (1958), Jewel (1974)

standpoint

Yesterday was my birthday and, holy shit, the amount of emails, Facebook messages, texts and calls I received was pretty damn humbling.

But as great a day as it was, there was a twinge of sadness that, at first, I couldn’t figure out. And then I realized it was the first birthday in a well over a decade with no Harv. For those of you who might not know, my best friend Harvey Forsyth passed away last November. One of the countless things I loved about him was that, while he was ever reluctant to make a big deal about his own birthday, he was always more than willing to make a big deal out of mine.

I’m not discounting all of the fantastic sentiments I received yesterday because that’s simply not the case. I truly appreciated every last one. But, without a second’s hesitation, I would trade all of them for one more chance to sit next to Harv at our favorite bar as he held up his beer to meet mine and wished me a happy birthday.

quotation

The longer I live the more beautiful life becomes. ↔ Frank Lloyd Wright

tune

This one’s gonna take a little patience. If I was only allowed to listen to 20 songs for the rest of my life, “Tokyo” by Bob Schneider would be a shoe-in. This is the only video I could find of it and it’s not that great and there’s a fanboy singing along at parts but I think the lyrics are some of the best around. Enjoy.

gallimaufry

The answer to the question posed in the title of this article is a very loud and resounding, “WHY WOULD YOU WASTE YOUR TIME WRITING THIS?”

→ I’m constantly back and forth about Daniel Tosh. Sometimes, I think we might get along famously. Other times, I’m convinced he’d be annoying on a level I haven’t experienced. I’m relatively sure, when he thinks about me, he’s having the same sort of internal struggle.

→ Okay. Fine. The Vancouver Canucks is the best team in the NHL. I was wrong. You guys were right. I can’t call them all so just shut up about it all ready.

One thought on “05.23.11 – a monday

  1. Happy Birthday . . . oh, and I’d probably punch tosh in the face after 5 minutes . . .

Leave a Reply

