05.17.11 – a tuesday


word

carrel [kar-uhl] n. 1. also called cubicle, stall, a small recess or enclosed area in a library stack, designed for individual study or reading 2. a table or desk with three sides extending above the writing surface to serve as partitions, designed for individual study, as in a library

birthday

Maureen O’Sullivan (1911), Dennis Hopper (1936), Taj Mahal (1942), Bill Paxton (1955), Sugar Ray Leonard (1956), Bob Saget (1956), Enya (1961), Craig Ferguson (1962), Trent Reznor (1965), Matthew McGrory (1973) 

standpoint

I went to grade school with Matthew McGrory (see the last name in today’s birthday section). He was a year older than me. I remember him vividly from back then due to the fact he was literally larger than life.

Years later, I was sitting with some friends, watching Big Fish and there was Matthew, sharing a scene with Ewan McGregor. I was psyched for him. I can state with relative certainty everyone watching the movie with me that night would say something like, “At first, I thought it was cool that Josh knew the guy who played the giant. But eventually his inability to shut the hell up about it proved to be a huge distraction. I had to re-watch it again a few days later.”

I was sad to learn a short while ago that Matthew passed away at the age of 32. Here’s a tribute video I found on YouTube.

quotation

The chimpanzee who is flying in space took off at 10:08. He reports that everything is perfect and working well. ↔ John F. Kennedy

tune

All types of people like to rail on Will Smith. He’s not “hardcore” enough or “real” enough or something similar. But, the dude makes catchy songs. Also, I’ve met him on three different occasions and he seemed like a decent sort. Plus, he made the best shore anthem ever, fittingly named…”Summertime.”

gallimaufry

Last night I saw Doug Benson at Helium Comedy Club in Philadelphia. I have to give the guy props for putting on a great show while completely annihilated.

→ For those of you in the food and beverage industry, you need to read this for a little inspiration.

→ This sucks. I thought it was for real. But, as it turns out, he may have just been screwing around with the American public. If we can’t trust Donald Trump, who in the hell do we look to now?

Leave a Reply

