04.25.11 – a monday


word

gourmand [goor-mahnd, goor-muhnd] n. 1. a person who is fond of good eating, often indiscriminately and to excess 2. a gourmet; epicure

birthday

Oliver Cromwell (1599), Edward R. Murrow (1908), Meadowlark Lemon (1932), Al Pacino (1940), Talia Shire (1946), Hank Azaria (1964), Renée Zellweger (1969)

standpoint

Let’s review some of the issues that preoccupied my brain over the weekend. Just some of them, mind you, let’s call them highlights.

→ If I didn’t have to work and the Flyers-Sabres Game 7 wasn’t on this Tuesday night, I’d be watching The Voice. I think it’s an interesting concept and, yes, I’m aware of my hypocrisy.

→ On the subject of the Flyers-Sabres series so far all I can offer is that the officiating couldn’t be worse if the refs were watching through binoculars from a plane circling overhead.

→ At one point the other day, I resolved I wasn’t going to buy any products from companies that made TV ads depicting men as moronic, soulless douchebags. Five minutes later I took it back after realizing my decision would preclude me from buying anything again ever.

That’s it for today. Come back tomorrow for some more.

quotation

The world owes all its onward impulses to men ill at ease. The happy man inevitably confines himself within ancient limits. ↔ Nathaniel Hawthorne

tune

One of the great things about music is that sometimes someone creates a song that just completely ignores the barriers of genre and simple kicks ass. Such is the case with Cee Lo Green‘s “Fuck You.” If you dislike this song there’s seriously something fundamentally wrong with you and I mean that.

gallimaufry

The only thing more horrendous than what John McCain is offering as a solution to the stalemate in Libya is the picture featured in the article. They should print up about 9 million copies of that face, attach some sort of menacing message and airdrop them all over the planet. There would be world peace after about 15 minutes. OK. Maybe an hour or so. But still.

Only 6% of Americans are following the Royal Wedding very closely? What the hell is wrong with you people? Are you too busy following actual issues of the day? Oh. You are? Carry on then.

Apparently, Paul Reiser was funny at some point. I’m still researching trying to ascertain just when exactly that was. 

Leave a Reply

