04.21.11 – a thursday


word

censure [sen-sher] n. 1. strong or vehement expression of disapproval: The newspapers were unanimous in their censure of the tax proposal 2. an official reprimand, as by a legislative body or of one its members  v. 3. to criticize or reproach in a harsh or vehement manner: She is more to pitied than censured 4. to give censure, adverse criticism, disapproval or blame

birthday

Anthony Quinn (1915), Charles Grodin (1935), Iggy Pop (1947), Tony Danza (1951), Andie MacDowell (1958), Robert Smith (1959), Glen Hansard (1970), Rob Riggle (1970), Nicole Sullivan (1970)

standpoint

I’m having a problem here.

If I write what I really want to write about, I’m going to compose a 50,000 word essay on how awful the officiating was in last night’s Flyers-Sabres game.

But I’m not going to do that. Instead, I’m going to cool off a little and come back tomorrow with a positive attitude.

Thanks for reading.

quotation

My father used to play with my brother and me in the yard. Mother would come out and say, “You’re tearing up the grass.” “We’re not raising grass,” Dad would reply. “We’re raising boys.” ↔ Harmon Killebrew

tune

Last night, my brother Jeremy told me I would like “When My Time Comes” by Dawes. And he was right.

gallimaufry

657 new islands were recently discovered right here on our own planet Earth. How in the hell did we miss 657 islands?

Bon Iver’s finally releasing a new album. And I will buy it. And so should you.

Six dollars per gallon for gas by this summer? It takes $40 to fill up my gas tank now. Can’t wait to pay $70. 

Leave a Reply

