04.20.11 – a wednesday


word

chthonian [thoh-nee-uhn] adj. of or pertaining to the deities, spirits and other beings dwelling under the earth

birthday

Adolf Hitler (1899), Lionel Hampton (1908), George Takei (1937), Jessica Lange (1949), Luther Vandross (1951), Crispin Glover (1964), Carmen Electra (1972), Joey Lawrence (1976)

standpoint

Here’s some stuff that’s been on my mind in the past few days.

→ Apparently, someone is trying hack my gmail account. At least that’s what Google is telling me. I am not a violent individual, by any stretch of the imagination, but I would have no problem spending a rainy afternoon punching hackers in the face. Seriously, you guys need to get some frickin’ girlfriends all ready.

→ Why is it so difficult to find out about the status of Comedy Central’s The Benson Interruption? Is it through? On hiatus? Is Doug Benson on a record-setting marijuana binge? I want answers, people.

→ I don’t care that some dude called me “a skirt” the other day when I openly declared I want a Can-Am Roadster, I still think they’re cool.

→ I’ve made a decision. Daredevil, starring Ben Affleck, is the worst superhero movie ever made. Adam West can finally hold his head high.

→ Following Wil Wheaton on Twitter as he watches his Los Angeles Kings is simultaneously fun and heartbreaking. The dude obviously digs hockey.

quotation

As advertising blather becomes the nation’s normal idiom, language becomes printed noise. ↔ George Will

tune

I don’t have a long-winded intro for this one, it’s just, in my opinion, a kick-ass song. Here’s “Open House” by Bombay Bicycle Club.

gallimaufry

Turns out those days were not “all happy” and it appears as if they definitely weren’t “free.” I’m relieved to see Richie and Fonzie aren’t getting involved in this mess.

I’ve never concealed my objection to the ridiculous gun laws in this country but the guns aren’t truly to blame. (They’re just inanimate objects, after all.) No, the actual problem is there’s no mandatory IQ test for those folks out there who feel owning a gun is a stellar idea. Read this story and tell me I’m wrong.

Hey, if you haven’t yet figured out why the NHL’s Stanley Cup Playoffs is unquestionably the most complete sports experience on the planet, you’re missing out. 

Leave a Reply

