03.07.11 – a monday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

word

obloquy [ob-luh-kwee] n. 1. censure, blame or abusive language aimed at a person or thing, especially by numerous persons or by the general public 2. discredit, disgrace or bad repute resulting from public blame, abuse or denunciation

birthday

Willard Scott (1934), Michael Eisner (1942), Tammy Faye Bakker (1942), Townes Van Zandt (1944), John Heard (1945), Peter Wolf (1946), Bryan Cranston (1956), Taylor Dayne (1962), Bill Brochtrup (1963), Wanda Sykes (1964), Rachel Weisz (1970), Peter Sarsgaard (1971), Jenna Fischer (1974)

standpoint

Is anyone else a little unsettled by the current trend of fast food franchises actively seeking out the acceptance of the American public?

Hey, Dominos, get a little thicker skin, why don’t ya? You don’t see the cigarette companies coming out with nationwide apologies, right? Stick to your guns. I think it’s safe to say that not one person who ever called you guys up at 2am and ordered ten pies was bragging to everyone in the house that they were about to have the most amazing pizza experience of their lives.

You too, Taco Bell. No one’s expecting much out of you. Stop drawing attention to yourself.

quotation

Three times in my life I thought I was going to die. And I was reconciled to death, though I did everything I could to avoid it. ↔ Jimmy Carter

tune

I’m not a fan of everything Patty Griffin does but when she gets shit right, she gets it right. Check out “When It Doesn’t Come Easy.” “Tonight I cry for the love I lost and the love I’ve never found.” Indeed.

gallimaufry

If you don’t believe there’s life on other planets you’re a complete moron. But, don’t take my word for it, here’s a NASA scientist’s thoughts on the matter.

→ Dear Michael Moore, I know you’re only trying to help these people but, dude, do you even remotely understand how your involvement might actually be hurting them as well? Think about, tubby.

Domonic Brown breaks his hand in training camp? Chase Utley hurting? Not a great way to go into the new season. I hope the pitching’s good. Oh, wait, it is? Never mind.

One thought on “03.07.11 – a monday

Leave a Reply

