02.23.11 – a wednesday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

word

esoteric [es-uhter-ik] adj. 1. understood by or meant for only the select few who have special knowledge or interest; recondite: poetry full of esoteric allusions 2. belonging to the select few 3. private; secret; confidential 4. (of a philosophical doctrine or the like) intended to be revealed only to the initiates of a group: the esoteric doctrines of Pythagoras

birthday

W. E. B. Du Bois (1868), Peter Fonda (1940), Patricia Richardson (1951), Howard Jones (1955), Kristin Davis (1965), Emily Blunt (1983), Aziz Ansari (1983), Dakota Fanning (1994)

standpoint

Since I started this blog, one of my favorite features to write has been The Wishing Well. It’s been a while since the last one, so let’s get to it.

I WISH every time I played Angry Birds I wasn’t reminded of “The Game,” an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation in which the entire crew becomes addicted to a very simple, handheld computer simulation. Once again, the creative folks behind the Star Trek franchise reveal their prognostic talents.

I WISH that when I do actually ignore my better judgement and pay attention to the news, it didn’t make me feel that this planet and the human race are headed toward becoming the universe’s greatest punchline. (I don’t have a link for this entry. There’s just too many to choose from.)

I WISH there was a law that made it legal for people like Tania Head to get pushed down a flight of stairs three times a day. If you think that’s a harsh statement, read this article and tell me you don’t agree.

I WISH I could watch one more Flyers game with my best friend Harv, followed by a beer or two at Dawson Street Pub. (For those of you who don’t know, Harvey died this past November. Sorry to bring the room down but it’s my list, after all, so deal.)

I WISH and I’m counting on all of you to come here tomorrow and read my thoughts on modern-day parenthood, easily the most requested topic among the emails. Come back tomorrow for some more. Thanks for reading.

quotation

It is not worth an intelligent man’s time to be in the majority. By definition, there are all ready enough people to do that. ↔ G. H. Hardy

tune

If Mumford & Sons has failed to gain your notice as of yet, you need reevaluate your music listening protocols. Here’s “The Cave.” After you’re done, go listen to the rest of their catalog.

gallimaufry

So apparently one of the little girls from the album cover of Smashing Pumpkins’ Siamese Dream is the band’s new bassist. And, get this, she didn’t share that little nugget with her new bandmates until after she was brought on. Truly, the world has gone mad.

→ For all of you who bitch and moan about how you wish you’d never joined a social networking site because you’re just “so over it,” and it’s “beneath” you, here’s instructions on how to delete yourself from some of the more popular ones. Happy trails on your noble path.

→ I wish this email from former US Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld was a fabrication but it’s real. So so so sad.

One thought on “02.23.11 – a wednesday

Leave a Reply

