02.15.11 – a tuesday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

word

inveigle [in-vey-guhl, –vee-] v. 1. to entice, lure or ensnare by flattery or artful talk or inducements (usually followed by into): to inveigle a person into playing bridge 2. to acquire, win or obtain by beguiling talk or methods (usually by from or away): to inveigle a theater pass from a person

birthday

Galileo Galilei (1564), Susan B. Anthony (1820), John Barrymore (1882), Cesar Romero (1907), Harvey Korman (1927), Melissa Manchester (1951), Jane Seymour (1951), Matt Groening (1954), Christopher McDonald (1955), Chris Farley (1964), Brandon Boyd (1976), Conor Oberst (1980)

standpoint

One of the millstones that accompanies maintaining a daily blog is the constant pressure to find something interesting to write about.

I’ve only recently returned to the euneJeune daily and, breathe easy, I’ve got lots on my mind and many thoughts to share with you folks.

But I want to try something different.

As readers, you all have always been great about giving me feedback regarding my content. Now, however, I’m looking for your feedback to shape the content. At least for the next week or so.

So, here’s how it’ll work. Email me at eunejeune@gmail.com. Tell me what you want me to write about. As long as it’s within reason, no subject will be dismissed. I’m not going to be picky about it but I’d prefer emails instead of blog comments.

All right, I’m excited about this. Looking forward to your suggestions.

quotation

I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours. ↔ Stephen Roberts

tune

Several months ago, I attended a quizzo in Conshohocken conducted by Mike, a good buddy of mine from college. (Check out his webpage here to see when and where he’s going to be next. His questions aren’t powder puff like some can be and, once you’re in the same room with Mike, you’ll think twice about picking up your smart phone to cheat.) In any case, there was a song-identification portion and he played “Long Time” by The Roots. I’d never heard it before and guessed wrong. (I did, however, take first place overall that night.) Afterwards, Mike told me what song it was and I listened to it about five times a day for the next two months. And I’m still not sick of it.

gallimaufry

Yesterday, pitchers and catchers reported to Clearwater FL for the very beginning of Phillies’ training camp. Roy Halladay, Cliff Lee, Cole Hamels, Roy Oswalt and Joe Blanton are, according to more than one expert’s opinion, the best starting rotation in the history of baseball. No pressure, fellas.

→ While I didn’t watch The Grammys (which my buddy Joe says makes me lame) I have been fascinated by the “enraged” Justin Bieber fans who were so upset the little guy was beat out by Esperanza Spalding in the Best New Artist category, they went online, defaced her Wikipedia page and politely asked the jazz musician to comply with simple requests such as, “GO DIE IN A HOLE.” Hey, classy kids, get used to the disappointment. I have a sneaking suspicion this won’t be your last taste.

→ If this Harold Camping character is correct with his prediction about the end of the world, and the rapture, starting on May 21st, I’m going to be pretty unhappy. May 22nd is my birthday. Can’t the universe just hold off for 24 hours so I can at least open my presents?

One thought on “02.15.11 – a tuesday

  1. Let’s get the facts straight please Mr. Eunjeune, I said the fact that someone with such strong musical opinions had no comment on the Grammy’s in his daily blog was weak. And as far as Best New Artist is concerned, winning that is a career killer. So I’m glad the band that should have won it (Mumford & Sons) did not win it…That is all. Bieber out!!!

Leave a Reply

