02.11.11 – a friday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

word

daedal [deed-l] n. 1. skillful; ingenious 2. cleverly intricate 3. diversified

birthday

Thomas Alva Edison (1847), Max Baer (1909), Sidney Sheldon (1917), Eva Gabor (1919), Lloyd Bentsen (1921), Leslie Nielsen (1926), Manuel Noriega (1934), Gene Vincent (1935), Burt Reynolds (1936), Sergio Mendes (1941), Jeb Bush (1953), Sheryl Crow (1962), Sarah Palin (1964), Ken Shamrock (1964), Jennifer Aniston (1969), Kelly Slater (1972), D’Angelo (1974), Brandy (1979)

standpoint

I know today I was supposed to continue my homage to my best friend Harvey who passed away this past November but I’m not sure I’m ready just yet. To those of you who are looking forward to it, I promise I’ll deliver sooner than later.

Instead, today I’d like to discuss zombies.

Let’s face it, zombies are slowly (they don’t do anything quick) pushing vampires off the center stage of the cultural mindset.

The zombie apocalypse has a stranglehold on most all of the entertainment mediums. Literature (Cell, The Rising), movies (28 Days Later, Zombieland), television (The Walking Dead) and gaming (Resident Evil, Zombie Panic In Wonderland) are all churning out zombie-related projects at a fantastic clip.

And we’re eating it up with both hands.

But why?

Well, first, the notion of a zombie apocalypse is one supported by certain folks out there who postulate it’s something that could actually transpire. The underlying hypothesis, in simple terms, is that a neurological disease could become transmissible and spread like wildfire through the population. Basically, we could all end up with a virus that would degenerate our minds that would effectively make us zombie-like. So, unlike vampires or werewolves for example, there’s some actual scientific evidence to suggest a zombie apocalypse is possible, and some even think inevitable. And nothing really captivates the modern mind as much as the destruction of the human race can.

Which brings me to the reason I think the zombie craze really appeals to most everyone with red blood running through their veins: the majority of us figure we’ll be among the survivors. And that’s because the most appealing facet of a zombie apocalypse is they’re so damn easy to kill. All you need is an SUV with a full tank of gas, a powerful assault weapon with unlimited ammo and an IQ above 100 and, really, how hard could it really be? If Jesse Eisenberg can do it, pretty much everyone can, right?

But I don’t find zombies to be truly vexing. If the zombie apocalypse happens, I’ll do my best to steer clear of them. No, what truly concerns me is that, as a society, we’ve become fascinated with facing a foe no more dangerous than those damn pigs in Angry Birds. (All of whom I hate.) We used to daydream about fighting impossible foes against insurmountable odds. But instead, these days, we’re waging war against brainless versions of ourselves and, most of the time, we’re not even winning.

quotation

I don’t want to impress people I wouldn’t cross the road to talk to. ↔ Ricky Gervais

tune

The 88 is a band I’m not super crazy about but I do like some of their songs. “They Ought To See You Now” is one of them.

gallimaufry

Sad, sad day for my roommates. R.I.P. Guitar Hero.

→ The only bright side of all the chaos transpiring in Egypt right now is that, if only for a brief time, the good old U.S. of A. doesn’t appear to be the most disorganized established government on the planet.

This gentleman from Philadelphia might be off his rocker but, hey, at least he’s trying to do something to help his community. Guaranteed Michael Ta’bon’s efforts don’t get nearly as much coverage as it should.

2 thoughts on “02.11.11 – a friday

Leave a Reply

