02.10.11 – a thursday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

word

junta [hoon-ta,  juhn-, huhn-] n. 1. a small group ruling a country, esp. immediately after a coup d’état and before a legally constituted government has been instituted 2. a council 3. a deliberative or administrative council, esp. in Spain and Latin America

birthday

Charles Lamb (1775), Jimmy Durante (1893), Robert Wagner (1930), Roberta Flack (1937), Mark Spitz (1950), Jim Cramer (1955), Greg Norman (1955), George Stephanopoulos (1961), Glenn Beck (1964), Laura Dern (1967), Elizabeth Banks (1974)

standpoint

So it’s been a while since I’ve been doing this every day and it feels great to be back.

During the hiatus, lots of stuff has happened, some great, some bad, and some absolutely devastating.

November 30th, 2010 was, hands down, the worst day of my life so far. That was the day Harvey, my best friend, passed away after fighting leukemia for the better part of a year.

I’m completely aware that most of you who read this are folks who know me on a personal level and, if you’ve known me for any stretch of time in the past 20 years, you inevitably came into contact with Harvey.

Tomorrow, I’m going to attempt to pay tribute to him in the way he deserves. Today, however, I’ll leave you with one of my favorite pictures of him.

quotation

I do not diminish the incredible symbolic importance of a black man getting elected president. But my euphoria was a smart man getting elected president. Maybe for the first time in my lifetime we had elected one of the thousand smartest Americans presidents.Aaron Sorkin

tune

I’ve never made a secret of the fact that, while my music interests dwell almost completely within the indie rock realm, I tend to almost always lean toward the pop side of the genre. It’s true that hipsters and I don’t really see eye-to-eye while discussing the merits of certain music. Also, it’s true I have been involved in heated conversations in which, afterwards, one friend or another has accused me of “taking a friendly debate and turning it into an uncomfortable, evening-ending tirade.” Well, maybe but whatever. In any case, here’s Swedish pop duo Marching Band‘s “Another Day.” Enjoy.

gallimaufry

How much would you like to bet Dallas won’t be in the running for hosting any more Super Bowls for a while? Good job, Jerry Jones.

→ Dear Christopher Lee, now that you’ve suddenly found yourself with an abundance of free time, why not take that time to try to become smarter? Sending a shirtless pic to some random woman on you met on Craigslist? Dude, come on.

→ Have you tried Xtranormal? It’s the site responsible for the weird GEICO tv ads. You can make your own short movies using its characters, themes and whatnot. It was a pretty fun 20 minutes until I lost interest.

Leave a Reply

