04.30.10 – A Friday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

much obliged

Before I get into the last post, I wanted to thank all of you for reading and posting comments to the daily euneJeune. I can’t tell you how much I’ve appreciated all the feedback and support.

For their role, however large or small, they played in making this a rewarding undertaking, I’d like to give a special thanks to the following people: Donika Miller, Marc Schuster, David Frees, John Sellers, Ezgi Bilici, Joe Taylor, John Hay, Kate Jacovino, Jeannie Matamoros, Beth Treisner, Heather Petrovsky, Courtney Papada Daly, Kelly Kampf, Jonathan Chriswell, Bill McLeer, Kristie Attardi, Wynn Sanders, Mike Graveley, Richard O’Connor, Brian McFadden, Kevin Emery, Adam Schwartzberg and Annette Burgess. Your support was huge.

Sorry if you deserved a mention and didn’t get one. Doesn’t mean anything other than I’m forgetful.

Also, a special shout-out goes to Mindninja, or Jen, or whatever the hell your name is, for stalking me for a few months last year. Your unrelenting negativity taught me there’s always going to be someone who flat out disagrees with my perspective. I have no idea who you are, but I have my theories (ex-girlfriend, ex-friend, etc.). Whoever you are, I hope the medication is working.

All right, now to today’s installment.

word

abeyance [uh-bey-uhns] n. 1. temporary inactivity, cessation, or suspension: Let’s hold that problem in abeyance for a while 2. Law. a state or condition of real property in which title is not as yet vested in a known titleholder: an estate in abeyance

birthday

Jean-Baptiste de la Salle (1651), David Thompson (1770), Alice B. Toklas (1877), Percy Heath (1923), Johnny Horton (1925), Cloris Leachman (1926), Willie Nelson (1933), Gary Collins (1938), Burt Young (1940), Jill Clayburgh (1944), Isaiah Thomas (1961), Akon (1973), Johnny Galecki (1975), Kirsten Dunst (1982)

standpoint

It’s finally here. The day I’m closing shop on the euneJeune daily. 14 months ago, I began this to prove to myself I could write something, good or bad, on a daily basis. And, for the most part, I did. I’ll always look back to this blog as something I’m proud of. I’m going to miss it badly.

But life goes on and I need to spend the time I allotted for this and use it for the writing I was meant to. Don’t worry, I won’t be entirely disappearing from the internet. I’ve been invited to be a contributor on Popularity Contest, a blog recently started by my friend Marc Schuster, and I’ll be posting stories on there from time-to-time.

I love Esquire and my favorite section is always “What I’ve Learned.” For my last Standpoint, I’m going to share what I’ve learned about myself, about the internet, about the world, from what I’ve done here.

» Astrology is horseshit. The day of the year someone happens to be born is completely inconsequential. Oskar Schindler and Saddam Hussein share the same birthday. So do Leonardo da Vinci and Seth Rogen, Raphael and Zach Braff, Vincent van Gogh and MC Hammer, James Madison and Erik Estrada. Looking for similarities within those pairings is ridiculous.

» Like most writers, I guess, I have a tendency to concentrate on troublesome people. I’ve focused more on Glenn Beck, Oprah Winfrey and Sarah Palin than I have on Chuck Klosterman, Conan O’Brien and Jack Kerouac. Something I should dwell on for a stretch.

» I have a broader vocabulary than I used to. The other day, I heard someone describe himself as a polemic and I knew exactly what he meant. (He was calling himself a controversialist.)

» The amount of news stories on any given day is staggering. Between the “reputable” sources and the bloggers, it’s fairly easy to find a news story in which the facts are presented just the way you like them. It’s great because no one ever again has to be wrong. Even when they are.

» I challenge you to find any quotations website where Mark Twain, Oscar Wilde and Ralph Waldo Emerson aren’t prominently featured. Go on, I dare you.

» Probably even Zach Rogue thinks I listen to too much Rogue Wave.

» When you write a blog, your greatest friends won’t read it. If you offered my best friend Harvey $1 million to tell you just one thing I wrote about here in the past six months, he’d be forced to forfeit the cash. (I have to say Joe Taylor is an exception to this rule. Or I’d never hear the end of it.)

» If you’re doing anything online that’s in need of promotion and you fail to see the merits of Facebook an Twitter, you need to reconsider. The days where I shared or tweeted my latest post, my traffic was over three times higher than those days I didn’t. The stuff works.

» One thing anyone who writes needs to remember is that there are those out there who internalize everything they read. Because of that, you’ll receive negative and hurtful attacks. Never let the vitriol people spew stop you from expressing yourself. Fuck those people. Wake up tomorrow and keep going.

I’ve learned all that and more. I hope you learned some things, as well.

quotation

Don’t be dismayed by goodbyes. A farewell is necessary before you can meet again. And meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those who are friends. Richard Bach

tune

For my last post I thought this Elliott Smith song was rather appropriate. Enjoy “A Fond Farewell.”

gallimaufry

→ If you’re not yet reading Hyperbole and a Half, I’m not sure what you’re waiting for. One of the greatest blogs I’ve read.

→ Man, US Senators sure do fancy themselves some meddling. Hey, elected officials, I’ve got to believe there some other problem you can be trying to solve. We’d be in a pretty sweet spot right now if Facebook privacy issues was the country’s highest priority.

This is the closest thing I’ve seen resembling honest journalism in a long, long time.

12 thoughts on “04.30.10 – A Friday

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  2. @Marc, Thanks, brother, I’m looking forward to being a part of it.
    @Chris, I apologize. You definitely should’ve been mentioned by name. Your feedback was great.

  3. Sorry to see the Daily go. Always a great read. Learned a little…laughed a lot…and found some new tunes…I hit the trifecta. I’ll be on the lookout for you around the blogosphere. Good luck in everything you do. I have no doubt you’ll be having fun doing it!!!

  4. I’ll miss the euneJeune daily, but I look forward to seeing your musings on Popularity Contest!

  5. @Bill, I’m a huge fan of the slow clap.
    @Kristie, thanks so much. Let me know what Phil says.
    @Brian, One thing I didn’t get to mention is that you often shared my posts on FB and it did drive traffic here, so thanks again.
    @Mike, I wholeheartedly agree with all your points (for once). Thanks, brother.
    @John, I’ve enjoyed reconnecting with you and I’m looking forward to reading more of your writing.
    @Joe, You couldn’t have done me a bigger service than quoting Bill McNeil.

  6. All good things must come to an end….And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make…This is the end, my only friend, the end. All great words of wisdom but I think Gilbert summed it up best when he said “No one’s really gonna be free until NERD persecution ends” Best of luck Josh

    And finally I’ll leave you with the immortal words of Bill McNeal:
    “It’s like my father used to say… when I was a child, I thought as a child and spoke as a child… and when I became a man, I took that child out back and had him shot.”

  7. wow, i got mentioned in the acknowledgements! i didnt read every day mostly because i don`t go on facebook every day but let me tell you your blogs were a great way for me to learn something and have a good laugh. thank YOU, josh lejeune and let me know whenever you begin to write online again. best,jh

  8. Josh,

    Ovechkin told me he will miss your blog. I can’t say that I was your most faithful reader, but I enjoyed the blog when I caught it. Best of luck with your future endeavors. Don’t let the haters and the world in general wear you down. As Thoreau once wrote, “for non-conformity, the world whips you with its diseasure.”Keep taking your lashings, I do and its a lot more fun that way.

  9. happy trails until we meet again… thanks for the laughs and the shoutout!

  10. Josh, I hope the end of this blog means something new and exciting for you is on its way. I have always wanted to be a writer (ask Phil) and never seem to find the time, so I am always hopeful that anyone I am friends with, might use their writing talents and become a success-big or small. I am looking forward to reading more of your stories, if that is what’s coming! Ps Thanks for the “shout out”. Can’t wait to tell Phil he didn’t make the cut. hahaha

  11. I’m starting a slow clap in NJ right this very second. Well played, Sir. Well played.

Leave a Reply

