04.05.10 – A Monday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

word

casuistry [kazh-oo-uh-stree] n. 1. specious, deceptive, or oversubtle reasoning, esp. in questions of morality; fallacious or dishonest application of general principles; sophistry 2. the application of general ethical principles to particular cases of conscience or conduct

birthday

Thomas Hobbes (1588), Booker T. Washington (1856), Spencer Tracy (1900), Lord Buckley (1906), Bette Davis (1908), Gregory Peck (1916), Arthur Hailey (1920), Roger Corman (1926), Stanley Turrentine (1934), Colin Powell (1937), Michael Moriarty (1941), Max Gail (1943), Christopher “Kid” Reid (1964), Mike McCready (1966), Paula Cole (1968)

standpoint

My lady came from Paris yesterday so I spent last night hanging with her and that translates into no new standpoint today.

quotation

I think in a lot of ways unconditional love is a myth. My mom’s the only reason I know it’s a real thing. Conor Oberst

tune

Despite my indie rock tendencies, I’d be kicked out of every hipster dufus bar I had the misfortune of walking into if people knew I really don’t care for Conor Oberst, or Bright Eyes as he’s better known by. There is one song of his, however, that will always resonate with me. Here’s “I Must Belong Somewhere.”

gallimaufry

“It’s Butler vs. Duke for the National Title.” And I still don’t care.

→ Man, if only this was true. The saddest part of it is that it might actually do some good. Ugh.

Green Day? Soundgarden? Lady Gaga?!?! What the hell happened to you, Lollapalooza?

Leave a Reply

