04.02.10 – A Friday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

word

hypocrite [hipuh-krit] n. 1. a person who pretends to have virtues, moral or religious beliefs, principles, etc., that he or she does not actually possess, esp. a person whose actions belie stated beliefs 2. a person who feigns some desirable or publicly approved attitude, esp. one whose private life, opinions, or statements belie his or her public statements

birthday

Charlemagne (742), Thomas Jefferson (1743), Hans Christian Andersen (1805), Émile Zola (1840), Walter Chrysler (1875), Max Ernst (1891), Buddy Ebsen (1908), Sir Alec Guinness (1914), Jack Webb (1920), Serge Gainsbourg (1928), Marvin Gaye (1939), Dr. Demento (1941), Leon Russell (1942), Linda Hunt (1945), Anne Waldman (1945), Emmylou Harris (1947), Christopher Meloni (1961), Clark Gregg (1962), Rodney King (1965), Adam Rodriguez (1975)

standpoint

Since I’m having trouble being creative this week, I thought today’s standpoint could serve to further one of the more popular sections of this blog – tune. Instead of sharing just one of my favorite songs today, I’m going to share several that I’ve bookmarked at one time or the other. No rhyme or reason here, people. Totally random. Enjoy.

quotation

The world is full of fools and faint hearts; and yet everyone has courage enough to bear the misfortunes, and wisdom enough to manage the affairs, of his neighbor. ↔ Benjamin Franklin

tune

Even though I’ve shared more than enough songs with you, I’m prepared to offer an additional one. Since revamping the iPod, I’ve been listening to lots and lots of Rogue Wave. I’m fully aware I’m fixated. What can I say? They’re my favorite band, and we’re all going to have to agree with the fact you’re going to need to come to grips with that. Here’s a live version of “Sewn Up.”

gallimaufry

I’m openly declaring it right now. Parenthood is the best show on television right now. Of course, the mere fact I like it means it’ll be cancelled by the time I wake up today. Sorry, Ron Howard.

→ Here’s Reason #423 you should, if provided the chance, get the fuck out of this country. That’s my plan. We can coordinate.

→ Sorry, not to be callous but when you’ve got “only rum and anti-depressants for company,” I doesn’t matter who you are – eventually you’re going to think about sticking a gun in your mouth.

2 thoughts on “04.02.10 – A Friday

  1. Hey Josh – I’m glad you are doing this blog again. I cannot describe how boring my work days are and now I have something to read! so…thanks!!

Leave a Reply

