03.30.10 – A Tuesday


word

miasma [mahy-az-muh, mee-] n. 1. noxious exhalations from putrescent organic matter; poisonous effluvia or germs polluting the atmosphere 2. a dangerous, foreboding, or deathlike influence or atmosphere

birthday

Francisco Goya (1746), Anna Sewell (1820), Vincent van Gogh (1853), Franz Oppenheimer (1864), McGeorge Bundy (1919), Richard Dysart (1929), Warren Beatty (1937), Eric Clapton (1945), Paul Reiser (1957), MC Hammer (1962), Tracy Chapman (1964), Ian Ziering (1964), Donna D’Errico (1968), Celine Dion (1968), Secretariat (1970), Norah Jones (1979)

standpoint

Okay, so the blog is back. My ancient laptop finally waved the white flag and let me know it’d had quite enough. So here I am typing away on the new one and I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner.

Tomorrow, I’ll start the once again. I’ve amassed a lot of new material topics including musicians selling out (or not), the small town complex of the small town I currently reside in, why you should (almost) never trust anyone you used to date, and how email has made it possible for people who are scared to death of confrontation to circumvent their fear.

Come back tomorrow for some more. Thanks for reading.

quotation

Life is loneliness, broken only by the gods taunting us with friendship and the occasional bonk.Christopher Moore

tune

The Avalanches are one of those music acts who’ve had one song I really like but I’m not too curious to find out more. I’ve listened to “Frontier Psychiatrist” about a million times (give or take), however, until yesterday, I’d never seen the accompanying video. It’s pretty great.

gallimaufry

→ If this guy didn’t all ready understand he was gay, he’s needs more friends like me. I would’ve told him a few decades back.

→ It’s unclear why National Geographic didn’t get in touch with me when they made this. You’d think they might want an expert.

→ When a show is featured in the lectures of a Harvard professor, it should be universally accepted that show is one of the best ever. (Truthfully, I didn’t read the entire article because I’m still not through the entire catalog of The Wire and I didn’t want to run the risk of it ruining anything for me.)

Leave a Reply

