03.16.10 – A Tuesday


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

word

obstreperous [uhb-strep-er-uhs] adj. 1. resisting control or restraint in a difficult manner; unruly 2. noisy, clamorous, or boisterous: obstreperous children

birthday

James Madison (1751), John Butler Yeats (1839), Marlin Perkins (1905), Henny Youngman (1906), Pat Nixon (1912), Jerry Lewis (1926), Daniel Patrick Moynihan (1927), Tommy Flanagan (1930), Chuck Woolery (1941), Erik Estrada (1949), Elliott Murphy (1949), Nancy Wilson (1954), Flavor Flav (1959), Todd McFarlane (1961), Patty Griffin (1964), Lauren Graham (1967), Riley Cote (1982), Wolfgang Van Halen (1991)

standpoint

Lately, I’ve stopped going out so much and have been watching more television than I’m comfortable admitting. By nature, I’m a thinker and so, while I sit and watch, I also ponder why I watch what I watch.

I’ve discovered one reason is I’m drawn to certain characters in certain shows and not always for the same reason. In most cases, I gravitate toward the supporting characters more than the leads.

So, of course I’ve compiled a list – Top Five Supporting Male TV Characters. Here is each one with a personifying video clip.

Peter MacNicol as Dr. Larry Fleinhardt on Numb3rs.

Quirky, goofball zen genius who begrudgingly participates in solving every crime imaginable with advanced math theory.

John Larroquette as Asst. DA Dan Fielding on Night Court.

Television no longer tolerates sexist characters as irredeemable as Dan Fielding.

Richard Schiff as Toby Ziegler on The West Wing.

Perpetually cranky White House Communications Director who often broke the rules to do the right thing.

Phil Hartman as Bill McNeal on NewsRadio.

Perhaps one of the most brilliant characters ever.

Michael K. Williams as Omar Little on The Wire.

Possibly the biggest badass in television history.

quotation

There is a chalk outline being drawn around common sense, and most people cannot even identify the victim. ↔ Dennis Miller

tune

A few weeks back I changed the Tune section here. Instead of linking to a video, I’m now embedding it in the actual post. The decision was made mainly due to the fact I’m now, for reasons I still don’t comprehend, able to view YouTube videos on my ancient laptop. With the onset of my embedding capabilities, I’m taking the liberty of re-posting some songs I’ve featured in the past. So, without further ado, here is the video from “Worry About It Later” by brakesbrakesbrakes. It’s one of my top five from this past year.

gallimaufry

Man, cocaine users can’t catch a friggin’ break. All ready no friend of law enforcement, now they’ve got the environmentalist on their asses. Poor bastards.

This woman is doing a bang-up job in contributing to the bad reputation of New Jersey. At the end of the article we learn people actually pay to watch her eat. I’d pay a small fortune to have never been exposed to her pathetic story.

→ This past weekend, most of us here in the United States lost an hour of sleep on Saturday night because of some bullshit called Daylight Saving Time, a process where all the clocks get turned an hour ahead. There are times when I wish Benjamin Franklin would’ve kept some of his brilliant fucking ideas to himself.

One thought on “03.16.10 – A Tuesday

  1. Interesting article on cocaine and rain forests. My favorite line was “Members [of Parliament] called for police to get tougher on users with more hand-held drug tracing machines in public.” I can only imagine an army of London bobbies walking around with drug-sniffing tricorders: “Pardon me, guv, but are you ‘olding?”

Leave a Reply

