02.16.10 – A Tuesday


word

gossamer [gosuh-mer] n. 1. a fine, filmy cobweb seen on grass or bushes or floating in the air in calm weather, esp. in autumn 2. a thread or a web of this substance 3. an extremely delicate variety of gauze, used esp. for veils 4. any thin, light fabric 5. something extremely light, flimsy, or delicate 6. a thin, waterproof outer garment, esp. for women

birthday

Henry Adams (1838), Ken Takakura (1931), Otis Blackwell (1932), Sonny Bono (1935), Kim Jong-il (1941), William Katt (1951), Margaux Hemingway (1954), LeVar Burton (1957), Ice-T (1958), John McEnroe (1959)

standpoint

Unless you’ve been wandering around a desert for the past couple of days, you know the 2010 Winter Olympic Games are underway in Vancouver. They only happen every four years and, every four years, I tell myself I’m not interested in watching the Olympics. And, every four years, I find myself watching them anyway. (I’ll go through the same process two years from now, when the 2012 Summer Olympic Games kick off in London.)

As I watch the Winter Games while bartending, I’m having a few thoughts. Thoughts I’ll now share with you.

→ Why is everyone so amped about Curling? Eight years ago, this sport gained a little notoriety, mainly because no one really had any idea what it was. In the past couple of days, at least five people have stated, “I can’t wait for Curling.” I’ve asked each of these people the same question, “Why?” They’ve all responded similarly, “Dude, it’s Curling.” Or, “Come on, how can you not like Curling?” I have to admit I wasn’t exactly sure why I’m not all that into Curling, so I thought about it and decided it’s because of the use of brooms. I just don’t think the brooms do much of anything.

→ How did the Biathlon even come into being? Who was the guy who thought cross-country skiing wasn’t enough of a pain in the ass and decided it would be a great idea to place some ridiculously impossible shooting ranges along the way? Most likely, that guy was not entirely fun to be around.

→ From what I can tell, professional skiing and those idiotic Sunday night blooper shows have one important thing in common: most everyone is tuned in to watch people fall.

→ At least once during every commercial break, the Province of British Columbia promotes itself with a film montage, complete with cameos by Steve Nash, Ryan Reynolds, Michael J. Fox and the guy who played Will on Will and Grace.

→ As I write this, the US has eight (8) medals all ready which is double what any other country has. I’m sure the rest of the world is displeased by that.

That’s all I got for now, but I’m sure more will come to mind.

quotation

Writing is a concentrated form of thinking…a young writer sees that with words he can place himself more clearly into the world. Words on a page, that’s all it takes to help him separate himself from the forces around him, streets and people and pressures and feelings. He learns to think about these things, to ride his own sentences into new perceptions.Don DeLillo

tune

I’ve always like “Half Harvest” by Michael Penn. That’s all I have to say about it.

gallimaufry

Sucks for director Kevin Smith. It’s embarrassing enough when you get ejected from a flight for being too fat. It’s much more so when the whole world knows about it. 

The World Sauna Championships? It’s for real. Further proof there are many more lunatics out there than we first thought.

→ As usual, this year’s lineup for Bonnaroo will be sick. As usual, I probably won’t be there.

One thought on “02.16.10 – A Tuesday

Leave a Reply

