02.09.10 – A Tuesday


word

soporific [sop-uhrif-ik, soh-puh-] adj. 1. causing or tending to cause sleep 2. pertaining to or characterized by sleep or sleepiness; sleepy; drowsy n. 3. something that causes sleep, as a medicine or drug

birthday

William Henry Harrison (1773)Carmen Miranda (1909), Dean Rusk (1909), Carole King (1942), Joe Pesci (1943), Mia Farrow (1945), Vince Papale (1946), Judith Light (1949), Jim J. Bullock (1955), John Kruk (1961), Travis Tritt (1963), John Walker Lindh (1981)

standpoint

Most everyone I know makes fun of Twitter. And, mostly, I get what they’re saying. It’s confusing to navigate if you don’t take the time to learn how to streamline, which I have. The trick of it is to be selective about who you follow. If you follow everyone who follows you, you’re bound to have a Twitter homepage that makes about as much sense if it was in Russian. (Unless you understand Russian, and then just pick another language, one you’re unfamiliar with.)

So what I’ve made two rules about Twitter. (1) I follow people I know. (2) I follow famous people I find interesting.

Below, I’m going to list 5 people who fall into the second category and an example of one of their typical tweets.

1. Chad OchoCinco (OGOchoCinco) – Before Twitter, I never really cared for the guy. But unless he’s putting on one hell of a show, he seems to be a good dude. TWEET: For those who take life and my twitter feed so serious please unfollow-this is for those who think n live outside the box-OCCN INC.

2. Mike Doughty (MikeDoughtyYeah) – One of my favorite musicians, turns out the guy is a good writer too. TWEET: If you’re gonna get angry in the grocery store line, perhaps a city of 10 million people is not for you.

3. Josh Malina (JoshMalina) – The veteran actor actually found me on Twitter after I made a snide comment about him appearing on some kid show I’ve since forgotten the name of. He took it well. TWEET: It’s spooky, the extent to which Taylor Swift is telling my story through her songs.

4. Michael Ian Black (michaelianblack) – One of the funniest people on the planet. TWEET: “Everything I do, I do it for you.” Even take a shit, Bryan Adams? Even take a SHIT?

5. Chuck Klosterman (CKlosterman) – Come on. You didn’t think I was going to leave him off the list, did you? TWEET: These Dominos employees need thicker skins. That focus group really got to them!

There’s plenty more I follow and, no need to worry, I’ll probably do this again sometime soon. How about you? Got any favorites on Twitter?

quotation

I understand Barack Obama. It is not always easy, but I do. I can even relate to him. Of course, we weren’t supposed  to need to. He was supposed to be above that. He was never supposed to be an everyman, and never pretended to be. He transcended beer tests, barbecue tests, and the rest – the tests of whether he was “likable” enough as a politician. It didn’t matter whether I wanted to have a beer with him or not, and nobody asked. He was Barack Obama. What he represented was much larger than any individual, even himself. It is not necessarily a good thing that I’ve come to understand him. But I do. ↔ Tom Junod

tune

Recently, I watched the fantastic movie Once. Great story and even better music. Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová are real life musicians (they’re the two people who make up The Swell Season) playing struggling musicians in Dublin. Check out “Say It To Me Now.”

gallimaufry

I knew it. Eventually someone would find that beer is actually good for you. It was just a matter of time.

→ Some people hate the snow. Some people are idiots. This past Friday-Saturday we received the second biggest snowstorm in Philadelphia history. And it appears there will be more starting today at 3pm.

→ Yesterday, we got FiOS here in our apartment. From what little I’ve seen so far, I like it about nine times more than I did Comcast.

Leave a Reply

