02.01.10 – A Monday


WORD

mountebank [moun-tuh-bangk] n. 1. a person who sells quack medicines, as from a platform in public places, attracting and influencing an audience by tricks, storytelling, etc 2. any charlatan or quack v. 3. to act or operate as a mountebank

BIRTHDAY

Conn Smythe (1895), Clark Gable (1901), Langston Hughes (1902), Boris Yeltsin (1931), Don Everly (1937), Garrett Morris (1937), Sherman Hemsley (1938), Terry Jones (1942), Rick James (1948), Sonny Landreth (1951), Brandon Lee (1965), Sherilyn Fenn (1965), Princess Stephanie of Monaco (1965), Lisa Marie Presley (1968), Pauly Shore (1968), Joshua Redman (1969), Michael C. Hall (1971), Phil Ivey (1976)

STANDPOINT

Time for another installment of The Wishing Well, a place for me to close my eyes and wish for things that will never come to fruition.

I WISH The Grammy Awards weren’t utter fucking bullshit. It’s a bunch of celebrities posing as musicians, receiving praise for their involvement with  songs that are eagerly consumed by a society content with the notion that being spoonfed soulless, unimaginative garbage is actually something worthy of dedicating millions of dollars and, worse, a perfectly good Sunday night.

I WISH I was ignorant to the fact President Obama’s proposed budget going to Congress was for $3.8 trillion. Anyone else wish there was some gigantic magical RESET button? Let’s start over and, hey, this time around, let’s try using our brains.

I WISH my fantasy hockey team somehow reflected how much I know about the sport. But, so far this year, it’s not happening.

I WISH, as a bartender observing many first dates, I could smack some sense into some of the men who do and/or say things practically guaranteeing a long drive home accompanied only by the raging questions in their head about what exactly went wrong.

I WISH all you reading this will help me out and follow my place of employment, the Parc Bistro in Skippack PA, on Facebook and Twitter. Thanks.

QUOTATION

The manner in which Americans ”consume” music has a lot to do with leaving it on their coffee tables, or using it as wallpaper for their lifestyles, like the score of a movie –it’s consumed that way without any regard for how and why it’s made.Frank Zappa

TUNE

Yes, I totally understand I’m breaking from the norm here. But I am fond of “Nobody Knows Me” by Lyle Lovett. Sue me.

GALLIMAUFRY

I’m ditching this section today. Thanks for reading. Come back tomorrow for some more.

Leave a Reply

