09.10.09 – A Thursday


Word

malapropism [maluh-prop-iz-uhm] n. 1. an act or habit of misusing words ridiculously, esp. by the confusion of words that are similar in sound 2. an instance of this, as in “Lead the way and we’ll precede.”

Birthday

Hilde Hildebrand (1897), Raymond Scott (1908), Rin Tin Tin (1918), Arnold Palmer (1929), Philip Baker Hall (1929), Charles Kuralt (1934), Roger Maris (1934), Jose Feliciano (1945), Bill O’Reilly (1949), Joe Perry (1950), Chris Columbus (1958), Colin Firth (1960), John E. Sununu (1964), Big Daddy Kane (1968), Guy Ritchie (1968), Johnathon Schaech (1969), Ryan Phillippe (1974)

Standpoint

I’m in the midst of packing up all of my stuff for yet another move. And the only thing I want to say today is that I hate moving. There. That’s it.

Quotation

I can forgive, but I cannot forget, is only another way of saying, I will not forgive.  Forgiveness ought to be like a cancelled note – torn in two, and burned up, so that it never can be shown against one.Henry Ward Beecher

Tune

The term “retro” is thrown around a little too much these days, but it’s apt when describing the music of Mayer Hawthorne. A 29-year old white kid from Ann Arbor, Michigan, is paying tribute to the soul roots of the area from whence he came. Unlike his peers, who are keeping busy paying homage to British pop, Hawthorne is instead conjuring up Smokey Robinson with what some are calling “New Detroit Soul.”  Trust me, it’s really great stuff. Try “Just Ain’t Gonna Work Out.”

Gallimaufry

 Was planning on commenting on some things here today like Ob, but Obama’s speech and the outcome of the Oudin/Wozniacki match in the U.S. Open but I’ve got an early morning followed by a long day that’ll end with me attached to a bunch of machines at Bryn Mawr Hospital. Don’t worry. It’s not what you think. I’m doing a sleep study tonight. Hopefully, these doctors can figure out why I haven’t felt like I’ve had a good night sleep in about a decade.

Leave a Reply

