Wednesday – September 2nd


Word

polestar [pohl-stahr] n. 1. polaris 2. something that serves as a guiding principle 3. something that is the center of attention or attraction

Birthday

William Somervile (1675), Roger Wolcott (1847), Albert Spalding (1850), Joseph Roth (1894), Horace Silver (1928), Glen Sather (1943), Billy Preston (1946), Dan White (1946), Walt Simonson (1946), Terry Bradshaw (1948), Christa McAuliffe (1948), Mark Harmon (1951), Michael Gray (1951), Jimmy Connors (1952), John Zorn (1953), John S. Hall (1960), Keanu Reeves (1964), Lennox Lewis (1965), Salma Hayek (1966), Katt Williams (1973), Brian Westbrook (1979), Aimee Osbourne (1983)

Standpoint

Here’s something I wonder about from time to time. If I was a character in a horror movie, would I be the funny guy who died right away? Or would I be the one who, once I realized what was going, became the voice of reason/whiny guy and be the last one slaughtered before the male and female lead made their triumphant stand and figured out how to beat the killer? Also, I wonder if my character would put up a good fight or if I’d be the victim of choosing the wrong hallway to walk down and get my head lopped off when I turned an unfortunate corner where some psycho was strategically waiting.

It may not seem important to think about such things, but I’m sure if you think about it for a short while, you’ll understand just how important it really is.

Quotation

The chief function of the city is to convert power into form, energy into culture, dead matter into the living symbols of art, biological reproduction into social creativity.Lewis Mumford

Tune

In doing this blog, I learn several new things everyday. It’s one of the great parts of doing it, actually. For instance, while researching today’s post, I learned the name for Throw Me The Statue was originally the title of a mixtape made by Scott Reitherman who eventually turned it into the name for his musical endeavours. TMTS released a new album in August – Creaturesque – and I can say with confidence it’s pretty great. Go to Stereogum to download “Ancestors.” And then go get the whole frickin’ album.

Gallimaufry

• I know everyone’s talking about how print media is going the way of fax machines and MySpace but I gotta tell you – I still love reading music magazines in my hands instead of off a computer screen. One such periodical I’m enjoying very much in the last few months is The Fader. It has to do with the selection of topics and the quality of the articles. The album reviews are done in a cool and unique way, too. Peter Macia‘s “Phoenix Remains a Band Apart – Inseparable” from the July/August 2009 issue was as much about an individual’s personal music experience as it was informative about the band.

Twitter is huge but Facebook has the staying power in the social networking battle royale. Check out Erik Linask’s “I’m in a Facebook State of Mind” if you don’t believe me.

• Dear Hollywood, why are you trying to ruin everything ever? I just read you’re remaking Teen Wolf. Please. Stop. Now.

5 thoughts on “Wednesday – September 2nd

  1. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

  2. Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

  3. Pingback: Twitted by eunejeunedaily

Leave a Reply

