07.08.09 – Wednesday


Word: gainsay [geyn-sey, geyn-sey] v. 1. to deny, dispute, or contradict 2. to speak or act against; oppose

Birthday: John D. Rockefeller (1839), Nelson A. Rockefeller (1908), Jerry Vale (1932), Phil Gramm (1942), Jeffrey Tambor (1944), Raffi (1948), Wolfgang Puck (1949), Anjelica Huston (1951), Kevin Bacon (1958), Toby Keith (1961), Joan Osborne (1962), Billy Crudup (1968), Beck (1970), Milo Ventimiglia (1977)

Quotation: I am a man, and alive…. For this reason I am a novelist.  And being a novelist, I consider myself superior to the saint, the scientist, the philosopher, and the poet, who are all great masters of different bits of man alive, but never get the whole hog. – D. H. Lawrence

Tune: I realize in certain music circles, it’s sacrilege to say this, but I’m not a huge Pink Floyd fan. I am, however, a huge fan of some of their songs. My favorite just may be “One Slip.”

Gallimaufry: OK, I’ll admit it. I was wrong. Yesterday’s memorial service in Los Angeles for Michael Jackson went down without a hitch. Everyone remained civilized, and, frankly, I was kind of proud of us for keeping it all together. I watched the memorial service, well, most of it and thought it was done tastefully and well. And then I read this article Steve Lopez and I kind of changed my mind. I’ll just be happier when this whole mess is put to bed, I think. NHL insiders are predicting today will be the day Joe Sakic retires from hockey. After a 20-year career that found him in the top 20 of all time in assists, goals and points, the Colorado Avalanche captain will be hanging up his skates. And while it probably the best thing for Sakic and his family, it’s always a shame when a class act with amazing talent exits the world of sports. There are very few like him. Yesterday, I saw “The Myth of DIY” from TinyMixTapes.com posted by my friend on Facebook. (Thanks, Annette) It’s a very compelling article on music piracy and shines a different kind of light on the issue. Definitely worth a read.

One thought on “07.08.09 – Wednesday

  1. ok. so you found absolutely nothing wrong with children going up talking about their dad in front of all those people?

    if the jackson family had class and the best interest of those kids in mind, they would be moving this kids in the opposite direction of the media spotlight. my guess is that the family will be pushing a career for these young guys in hollywood. but in reality, the family should take their gazillion dollars and place them in a place where they can live a normal life away from the constant public eye/media/paparazzi/ money sucking d-bags.

Leave a Reply

