06.04.09 – Thursday


Word: descry [di-skrahy] v. 1. to see (something unclear or distant) by looking carefully; discern; espy: The lookout descried land. 2. to discover; perceive; detect

Birthday: Benjamin Huntsman (1704), Apollon Maykov (1821), Dennis Weaver (1924), Morgana King (1930), John Drew Barrymore (1932), Bruce Dern (1936), Freddy Fender (1937), Gorilla Monsoon (1937), Parker Stevenson (1952), Keith David (1956), Scott Wolf (1968), Al B. Sure (1968), Horatio Sanz (1969), Noah Wyle (1971), Stefan Lessard (1974), Russell Brand (1975), Angelina Jolie (1975)

Quotation: Smile, breathe and go slowly. Thich Nhat Hanh

Tune: Just got the new Manchester Orchestra album, Mean Everything to Nothing. Take a listen to the first single “I’ve Got Friends.”

Gallimaufry: The quest to find the biggest asshole on the planet is officially over. His name is Arthur Kade and he’s from Philadelphia. Sort of a half-assed Tucker Max, Kade has created a blog detailing “The Journey” – he sold his financial planning practice to pursue a professional acting career. He’s a perfect example of how certain people can get what they want in this world without understanding much of possibly anything. I’ll have more on this dude coming soon. I just wanted to give you a little taste.  Sometimes (only sometimes) when I’m eating ice cream I think to myself that I wish it were actually pudding. Um, you think that too sometimes, right? Anyway, the fine people at Coldstone Creamery must have been reading my mind. Introducing ice cream that doesn’t melt – it turns into JELL-O Pudding. The next time you crave some after-dinner sweet, this will eliminate the stress of making an almost impossible decision. Ice cream of pudding?  Turns out the two dessert juggernauts have teamed up to make the world’s most indestructible treat. Crafty bastards. One thing I think you and I might agree on is Hulu is pretty damn sweet. High quality TV shows and movies for free? Who wouldn’t like that? No one, that’s who. Well, it might not be free for very long. News Corp., the company that owns Hulu, has appointed a new chief digital officer. Apparently, he thinks it might be more financially viable to charge for Hulu’s content. Here’s hoping he comes to his senses.

Incoming: The week is almost over and I’ve still more almost ready to go. I’m definitely going to unleash a little something about this Arthur Kade fellow. It just wouldn’t be right if I let it go by the wayside. Also, I’ve got some thoughts I’d like to share about all the movie remaking going on in Hollywood right now. And, of course, 3 Things To Do In Philly When You’re Dead, which will be expanded a little in keeping with the new format.

3 thoughts on “06.04.09 – Thursday

  1. dude. read the comment sections on arthur kade’s site. they are classic….
    …Steven Starr

    Arthur – You are a douchebag. My restaurant chain has been losing money recently – Not because of the slumping economy, but rather because you always mention that you dine at my establishments. Nobody wants to be around you, Arthur. Please stop coming to my restaurants, and for the love of God, please stop telling people that you are going to be at my restaurants!! Oh, and you are the biggest douchebag alive. I hope you get ingrown toenails in every toe.

    …Go set your house on fire and die in it

    great reading material.

  2. there was an article on him in philadelphia magazine. totally a poor man’s tucker max. but this guy isnt even funny. WTF is the point?

  3. Whoa… I checked out the “My Journey…” blog, and I have to agree with your assessment. My favorite line was, “I have accomplished so much, and I am just in the infantile stages of my acting career.” Infantile, indeed! Great youtube clip from his acting class, too!

Leave a Reply

