04.15.09 – Wednesday


Word: claque [klak] n. 1. a group of persons hired to applaud an act or performer 2. a group of sycophants

Birthday: Leonardo da Vinci (1453), Henry James (1843), Bessie Smith (1894), Roy Clark (1933), Emma Thompson (1959), Linda Perry (1965), Samantha Fox (1966), Seth Rogen (1982)

Occurence: 1755Samuel Johnson‘s A Dictionary of the English Langauge is published in London.

Standpoint: Recently, I found StumbleUpon (or “SU“). I’d seen the SU icon on various sites, so I wanted to find out what it was all about. I signed up for a free account. Touting itself as “the best way to discover things you like on the web,” StumbleUpon is both (a) a very unique way to explore the internet, and (b) an incredibly simple way to waste three hours of your life. After signing up and completing my profile, I was asked to pick my favorite “Topics.” There’s a bunch to choose from. After clicking everything that interested me, and installing the SU toolbar on my internet browser, I was ready to “Start Stumbling.”

Below is a list of the first ten web sites I “stumbled upon.”

1. Things People Said: Courtroom Quotations – A site that finds funny or embarrassing statements made during courtroom trials. This was a good way to start it off. Some of the quotations were pretty entertaining. (Example: A lawyer asks the question, “How far apart were the vehicles at the time of the collision?”) Grade: B+
2. Bibliomania: Free Online Literature and Study Guides – Sites like this seem to come up frequently on SU. Probably pretty handy for high school and college students but just because I picked “Literature” as one of my Topics doesn’t mean I want to read David Copperfield online. Grade: C-
3. Viralnerd.com Random Photo – A three-panel cartoon of The Mario Brothers applying for a job to rescue a captured princess. They get the job when they write the word “Super” above the words “Mario Bros.” on their business card. I don’t know. I’m not buying it. Grade: D
4. Bookstove.com: Why I Hate Twilight – A 95-item list of “reasons why you shouldn’t read Twilight posted by a Bookstove.com user. I’ve never read the book. Or seen the movie. I can’t hold that against this particular site. I suspect that if you know anything about Twilight, the list is meaningful. The page took, what I thought to be, an inordinate amount of time to load. Grade: B+
5. Word Perhect – Confusing. I was asked three different questions with multiple options, none of which made sense. After I did what it asked, a word-processing template came up with my results in the text area. This might be useful to someone, somewhere. But I don’t see how. Grade: F
6. TimeTicker and the Time Tickers – This would be an awful name for a musical act, but as a web site, it’s kind of cool. It allows you to find the time anywhere in the world. I found it useful because it allowed me to finally figure out how to correctly set the time on my WordPress profile. Only problem was an annoying pop-up. Grade: A-
7. Authspot.com: Whispers Softly – A poem named “Whispers Softly” by someone calling themselves FJ McCarthy. Not a huge poetry fan, but I know a good poem when I read one. Good job, FJ. Grade: A
8. Truthdig: Drilling Beneath the Headlines – Tons of information here. I really like this site. I added it to my RSS feed. Grade: A+
9. CatStuff: Cat Facts and Trivia – A list of facts, some historical trivia and diet tips. All for cats. Dog people probably won’t like this site. Grade: B
10. Random Photograph from NationalGeographic.com – Beautiful aerial shot of Chicago at night. This happens a lot on SU. Random photography is a good way to kill time. But not very useful. Unless you’re from Chicago and want a kickass background for your laptop. Grade: C+

All of that took me about 10 minutes. What did I get out of the StumbleUpon experience? Well, I did find some useful information (see Truthdig and TimeTicker). I found some completely useless junk (see Word Perhect and Viralnerd’s Random Photo). And I found some cool stuff to read and look at (see Things People Said: Courtroom Quotations and CatStuff). 

The only negative issue I encountered during my “stumbling” was that my computer slowed down significantly while using the toolbar. Overall, though, I’m happy with how it all turned out. I’ll use it again. 

Quotation: How would you like a job where, every time you make a mistake, a big red light goes on and 18,000 people boo?Jacques Plante, former NHL goaltender

Tune: I heard “Call and Response” by Or, the Whale a short time after the Hurricane Katrina disaster. I think it’s a great thing when a song can convey how an entire group of people is feeling. Bonus: Or, the Whale looks like it rocks in concert.

Gallimaufry: Recently, Jamie Foxx slammed Miley Cyrus during his radio show after he learned that the teenage superstar said she was “going to ruin” the band Radiohead after they refused to meet with her at the Grammy’s. In an attempt to demonstrate how insignificant he thought she was, Foxx advised Cyrus, who was not present, to “make a sex tape” and “do some heroin.” Probably out of line. Last night, Foxx publicly apologized to Cyrus on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. Fair enough. Now, where’s Cyrus’ apology to Radiohead?…For all you bloggers out there wondering if frequent posting will increase your traffic, read “Blog Post Frequency Results” from Life of Justin: The Blog of a Digital NomadNewt Gingrich eyeing a possible run at the Presidency in 2012? I like it. President Obama won’t even have to campaign to get another four years. Thanks, Newt.

Incoming: TomorrowAnnoying Sayings and Misused Words. Friday3 Things To Do in Philadelphia When You’re Dead and 5 People I Wish Would Move To Another Planet. And for those of you who have been giving me One-Word Movie Title suggestions on Twitter and Facebook, fear not. Monday’s post will reveal the results of that data.

Lastly: Let’s Go Flyers!

14 thoughts on “04.15.09 – Wednesday

  1. @Kristie – I disagree with part of what you wrote. Plante was a goaltender back decades ago. He wasn’t making great money. And letting in a goal isn’t necessarily a mistake as it is an eventuality. I do agree that a lot of professional athletes are overpaid babies but I don’t think Plante falls into that group.

  2. How would you like a job where, every time you make a mistake, a big red light goes on and 18,000 people boo?

    My thoughts on this quotation…if you make that kind of money, first of all, you shouldn’t be making mistakes, and if you do, you shouldn’t be complaining. I despise how much professional athletes are paid. They have nothing to complain about.

  3. @Beth – I agree with what you wrote. I think the message that Foxx received loud and clear from the entertainment world was: DON’T MESS WITH MILEY!

  4. @Mr. Dude – I think Jamie Foxx’s job is to say things like that. I dont find him to be a “lick.” I’m sure Newt Gingrich is smart. It’s the jerk part that bothers me. I do agree with your assessment of the Flyers game tonight. Go Flyers.

  5. I haven’t heard the actual comments, but I’ve heard about them and honestly I don’t really get why people are offended. The only real insult in that was the implication that she is a boring good girl. It’s not like these were instructions. Also, come on, she’s still a teenager but she’s a star and is still out in the public eye and she’s dating a 20 year old – it’s not like she’s a small child. And do people think because a COMEDIAN made a joke, that Miley is going to actually go out and do those things? Did he imply that she has done those things? No – he made a joke which was funny because everyone knows those things are far from things she would do (at least so we are led to believe!). People need to relax, already!

  6. jamie foxx is a complete lick (translation: loser di**) just like the cyrus family. notice you would never hear a comment regarding this from radiohead.

    i am a democrat, but if you ever heard gingrich speak on the news and so on and so forth, you might actually be slightly impressed. dude is super smart. but he is also a big jerk. which will not help the american people like him.

    flyers better bring their A game. they are gonna need it. if they get through the first 10 minutes of the game and control the tempo of the home team’s veracity, they have a great shot at winning game 1. GO FLYERS!

  7. @john hay – I know. Personally, I think peoplle should be allowed to say whatever they want, but I heard that Foxx’s teenage daughters were pressuring him about dissing Cyrus.

  8. the jamie foxx comments on miley cyrus were hilarious. i knew i liked that guy for some reason. great job as usual, josh.

Leave a Reply

