03.19.09 – Thursday


Whereabouts: Philadelphia, PA

Word: zeitgeist [tsahyt-gahyst] noun the spirit of the time; general trend of thought or feeling characteristic of a particular period of time

Birthday: Wyatt  Earp (1848), William Jennings Bryan (1860), Earl Warren (1891), Richie Ashburn (1927), Sirhan Sirhan (1944), Glenn Close (1947), Harvey Weinstein (1952), Bruce Willis (1955)

Occurrence: 1987PTL Club televangelist Jim Bakker resigns due to a sex scandal, handing the reigns over to Jerry Falwell, who proceeded to lead a very esteemed career crusading against such evils as civil rights, homosexuality and Teletubbies, just to name a few.

Standpoint: The new Facebook interface is dreadful. The social networking site is claiming that it’s receiving “mixed reactions” to its new design but I haven’t found anything to suggest that anyone likes it at all. As I’m writing this on Wednesday night, the new Facebook application, “New Layout Vote on Facebook”, has the votes for at 31,825 and the votes against at 514,610. By my calculations (and math is not my strong suit), that’s a 16 to 1 ratio. Not exactly a close-call. Facebook seems to be emulating Twitter with the new design and I’m baffled as to why. Facebook dwarves Twitter in pure traffic volume so why would it change to a more Twitteresque appearance? The “News Feed” on my Homepage now gives me a staggering amount of information about my friends like their results of the “Who Sings That 80s Song?” quiz. I’m glad everyone seems to be scoring so high but do I really care? Not really. At this point, I’m wondering if/when Facebook will cave the way it did last month when it announced a new user’s terms of service only to rescind it days later. Bottom-line: If something is working perfectly fine, don’t redesign its homepage and make navigation cumbersome to the point of disinterest.

Quotation: The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you.David Foster Wallace

Soupçon: In the movie Game of Death, the studio changed the plot and used actual footage from Bruce Lee’s funeral after the actor died midway through filming.

Tune: William Shatner has made a name for himself in the music biz by working with the likes of Ben Folds and Brad Paisley. Check out “I Can’t Get Behind That” – a spoken word duet with Henry Rollins. (I like the puppets in the video.)

Link: Ultimate Flash Face – This is too cool. Hours of fun. Try it.

Gallimaufry: The previews for the new NBC drama “Kings” made the show seem pretty ridiculous. Somehow, I found myself watching it this past Sunday night and guess what? Pretty strong. Christoper Egan (Julian Shepherd) is a little too Ryan Phillipe and Ian McShane (King Benjamin Silas) seems to play the same guy in everything I see him in but neither of those things will keep me from watching next week… I’ve read Tucker Carlson’s article “How Jon Stewart Went Bad” a couple of times now and I do feel Carlson isn’t completely off-base about certain points like Stewart’s softball tactics with Kerry in ’04 and Obama in ’08. But, Mr. Carlson, please. If the rest of the media feel that they can’t attack him out of fear or reverence or whatever, I don’t see how the blame falls on Stewart…Check out the 2009 National Douchebag Tournament. And before the comments start coming, the answer is no, I’m not one of the contestants.

8 thoughts on “03.19.09 – Thursday

  1. Re: WWaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
    end.

  2. I agree, Josh. I have actually stopped using Facebook as much as I used to b/c the new layout irritates me so much. I could give two shits what quiz my friends took and I also could care less about the correspondence btw my friends. It really pisses me off. Sorry, its been a long day.

  3. Shannon, not really stealing from me, but I appreciate the sentiment.

    Adam, new story is NOT up yet. I will definitely keep you posted. Thanks for reading.

  4. Josh . . . good job . . . I enjoy the daily blog . . . did I miss your latest story?? . . . make sure I am notified . . . adam

  5. I am stealing your quote. I love it. ITs funny b/c its perfect for the day I am already having.

    And I agree with the you about the new facebook. It blows, no need to say more. I haven’t had nearly as much coffee as Jer so that’s all I have to say until I come out of my coma.

  6. I think that’s a ringing endorsement for both Facebook’s new layout and the wonderful effects of caffeine first thing in the morning. You know, Jer, there’s plenty of decaffeinated brands on the market nowadays that are just as tasty as the real thing.

    Let me address your points.

    First, even if it’s free, Facebook is ENCOURAGING feedback on its new design so the complaints ARE warranted.

    Second, how long could they have “tested the crap” out of it, having just changed the layout just a few short months ago?

    Third, how will the turn into a paysite when myspace, twitter and every other social networking site is free? Doesn’t make sense.

    Fourth, you’ve got a lot to say on the subject for someone who “simply dont give a sh**.”

    Fifth, it actually has stopped me from using it as much and there are people that I know (you know them too) who’ve done the same.

    Thanks for the commments, I appreciate it.

  7. i am amused at the general outrage of facebookers everywhere who are lighting up the facebook community with negative comments about its new layout.

    first of all. its free so stop complaining. second of all. they probably tested the crap out of the thing and found results that warranted a change. third of all and subsequently. they are setting you up to have to pay for this sight eventually. mark my words. fourthly. negative feedback always reigns supreme over those who like or simply dont give a sh**. like me. fifthly. it won’t stop any of you from using it as much as you currently do.

    i refuse to vote for something so gay. but i like the layout. it is AWESOME. it allows for less scrolling and a better quick glance during my lunch break. GO FACEBOOK!!! keep up the great work. dont be a bunch of pansies and cave to popular opinion. stick to your guns!!!

    sorry. its early at work for me. rant over.

Leave a Reply

