03.04.09 – Wednesday


Whereabouts: Philadelphia, PA

Word: aposiopesis [ap-uh-sahy-uhpee-sis] n. a sudden breaking off in the midst of a sentence, as if from inability or unwillingness to proceed

Birthday: Anthony Vivaldi (1687), Knute Rockne (1888), Shemp Howard (1895), Paul Mauriat (1925), Bobby Womack (1944), James Ellroy (1948), Catherine O’Hara (1954), Adrian Zmed (1954), Steven Weber (1961), Kevin Johnson (1966), Evan Dando (1967)

Occurrence: 1634 – The first tavern is opened in Boston, Massachusetts by Samuel Cole. The first of hundreds of thousands.

Irksome: I’m not going to bail after one show but Late Night with Jimmy Fallon is not really doing it for me so far. Mr. Fallon seems like an affable guy and his nervous energy was funny on SNL but he needs to lose a little bit of that awkwardness. Conan O’Brien mastered walking the line between acting confident and playing the geek. Fallon must do the same to capture the late night crowd, especially on the East Coast, where obviously more will be expected of him. I did like The Roots as the house band and the “Slow-Jam the News” of the stimulus package definitely made me laugh. I know Jimmy is capable of more than he showed me Monday night. I just hope he gets the chance to prove it.  

Quotation: Be ashamed to die until you have won some victory for humanity.Horace Mann

Tidbit: Yesterday, March 3rd 2009, was a Square Root Day. Third (3) day of the third (3) month of 2009 (9). 3×3=9. The next one is April 4th, 2016. Start planning your square root parties accordingly. I like Miller Lite.

Song: Last summer, I listened to the Public Enemy song, “Harder Than You Think” about 9 million times. I’m not saying you should listen to it that many times. But I don’t think it’s too much to ask.

Link: swaptree – Do yourself a favor and check this out. The premise of the site is paying for new stuff with stuff you already own. I think it’s a great idea.

Gallimaufry: HERE is the blog of one of my favorite authors, John Sellers. Not only is he a talented writer, he also happens to be a good dude. A few months back, I solicited some advice from John about something I was writing. He replied to me in helpful detail and told me not to hesitate to seek his council in the future. Very cool. Also, while visiting Philadelphia he visited The Dark Horse after he read about it one of my stories…Click HERE to read about Sam Roberts.

 

5 thoughts on “03.04.09 – Wednesday

  1. hey josh . . . I think I may be lost . . . I thought you put out a new story . . . I was looking for that. . . are you now doing a daily blog? . . . do you really like Miller Lite???? Really???? Really Really??????? Miller Lite?????

  2. Pingback: google trends watch

Leave a Reply

